Open the Vaults with curses.

Asked by Seority 11 months ago

Making a fun Mathas, Fiend Seeker deck full of curses. If I cast Open the Vaults with curses in my graveyard, will I be able to reapply them to my opponents like I want? Or will they be attached to me?

The card specifically states: "to the battlefield UNDER THEIR OWNER'S CONTROL."

In the rulings it states: "If an Aura can be returned to the battlefield with Open the Vaults, it must be, EVEN IF ITS OWNER DOESN'T LIKE WHAT IT WOULD ENCHANT."

So if I have Curse of Bloodletting in my graveyard, and I cast Open the Vaults, what would happen?

(Side question, do enchantment creatures count as enchantments?)

hyperlocke says... #1

If you enchant your opponent with a curse, you are the curse's controller! Same thing applies when you enchant an opposing creature, then you still control the aura.

So yes, you will be able to attach the curses to your opponents (unless they have hexproof (Aegis of the Gods) or have protection (Teferi's Protection), then you wold have to enchant yourself("enchant player") or the curse stays in the graveyard ("enchant opponent")).

Yes, enchantment creatures count as both enchantments and creatures.

January 7, 2018 8:12 p.m.

pskinn01 says... #2

hyperlocke: the auras (curses) returned from the graveyard would enter the battlefield attached to any thing it could normally enchant as its controller wishes.

An aura spell only targets while on the stack. If an aura would enter by other means the object they are attached to are chosen as they enter play. So hexproof would not stop the curses from enchanting an opponent.

January 7, 2018 8:45 p.m.

pskinn01 says... Accepted answer #3

Open the vault returns all cards with either type artifact or enchantment into play. It doesn't care what other types they are. Auras with something already in play that it can enchant become attached to any object as its controller sees fit as the spell resolves. This process does not target anything. Once the spell starts to resolve, there is no chance for a player to respond to the choices made before the auras are attached to objects.

January 7, 2018 9:09 p.m.

Seority says... #4

Thank you all for the info. Glad to see my curses will still work the way I wish!

To be clear, my enchantment aura-curses coming back from the grave via Open the Vaults do not target a player (just enchant player), and therefor CAN be placed on hexproof players, correct?

January 7, 2018 9:37 p.m.

sonnet666 says... #5

Yes, they CAN be placed on players with Hexproof (or Shroud) because targeting is something that only happens when a spell is on the stack, but they CAN'T be placed on a player with Protection, since part of the Protection ability is that the thing (in this case, the player) with Protection can't be enchanted by things they're protected from.

If your opponent has Protection, and it's a 2 player game, any "Enchant Player" curses will be forced onto you, since you're the only legal enchant-able object. (This is an unlikely scenario.)

January 8, 2018 2:20 a.m.

hyperlocke says... #6

Oh right, didn't think about that.

January 8, 2018 7:12 a.m.

Please login to comment