Naming cards

Asked by PotatoPi 11 months ago

If I am playing a card like Demonic Consultation am I allowed to name illegal cards like Blacker Lotus ?

GreatSword says... #1

Your only restriction with naming cards is that you must name a card that actually exists in Magic. Blacker Lotus is certainly a card.

Why would you want to do this though?

May 11, 2013 9:10 a.m.

squire1 says... #2

Cheapest self mill ever

May 11, 2013 9:22 a.m.

Phobophile says... Accepted answer #3

actually, no, you're not allowed to name blacker lotus.

201.3. If an effect instructs a player to name a card, the player must choose the name of a card that exists in the Oracle card reference (see rule 108.1) and is legal in the format of the game the player is playing. (See rule 100.6.) If the player wants to name a split card, the player must name both halves of the split card. (See rule 708.) If the player wants to name a flip cards alternative name, the player may do so. (See rule 709.) If the player wants to name the back face of a double-faced card, the player may do so. (See rule 711.) A player may not choose the name of a token unless its also the name of a card.

May 11, 2013 9:27 a.m.

Sagi007 says... #4

any way to get Laboratory Maniac out on t1? t2 this. t3win?

May 11, 2013 9:45 a.m.

SplodyCopter says... #5

Phobophile is correct. But you can certainly name cards that aren't in your deck. For instance, Moat is legal in legacy, but is most likely not in your deck.

May 11, 2013 9:59 a.m.

Devonin says... #6

The best part is when you name Dark Banishing in an actual legacy tournament, and forget that you sideboarded both copies out of the deck before the game started.

May 11, 2013 10:04 a.m.

themlsna says... #7

You should name Door to Nothingness .

May 11, 2013 10:14 a.m.

GreatSword says... #8

Sorry, I figured you were just playing 60-card-anything. Never figured you'd actually want to do this at a sanctioned event.

May 11, 2013 10:27 a.m.

PotatoPi says... #9

No, I was going to play it with a Hive Mind out. I'll probably just start naming Chimney Imp . Thanks

May 11, 2013 10:56 a.m.

Rayenous says... #10

@PotatoPi - I believe that the naming of a card for Demonic Consultation is a part of the spells resolution, not the casting.

As such, using Hive Mind , and naming Chimney Imp will do nothing to your opponents, as they would still be able to name any card they wish when their copy of the spell resolves.

In fact, their copy of the spell will resolve before yours will, thus they won't even know what you are going to name until after they have named their card and revealed cards until they have found it.

May 11, 2013 8:18 p.m.

SplodyCopter says... #11

Nope. You have to name a card as you cast it.

May 11, 2013 11:31 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #12

From the Gatherer:
10/1/2008 - You don't name a card until Demonic Consultation resolves.

It's not part of the casting, it's part of the resolution. So your opponents will still be able to name any card they want.

May 11, 2013 11:55 p.m.

Phobophile says... #13

@SplodyCopter

if you have to CHOOSE, or NAME something, you do it as the spell resolves.

if you have to TARGET something, you have to name the targets as you cast the spell. this is always true when the word TARGET is used.

May 12, 2013 12:34 a.m.

PotatoPi says... #14

Damn. Thanks though.

May 12, 2013 5:09 a.m.

SplodyCopter says... #15

Ah! Thanks for clarifying. I missed that.

May 14, 2013 6:46 p.m.

Please login to comment