Incandescent Soulstoke ability ruling with Fling

Asked by Not_Sure 9 months ago

If i activate Incandescent Soulstoke's ability to play an elemental from hand then attack, say unblocked, and deals damage to a player; would i then be able use Fling to deal additional damage to the player?

Tyrant-Thanatos says... Accepted answer #2

Yup. Soulstoke's ability just sets up a delayed trigger to sacrifice the creature it put into play when the end step arrives. The creature can die or be sacrificed to any creature sacrifice effect before that time comes. Be it Fling, Ashnod's Altar, Lord of the Pit, Innocent Blood, etc. It just has to have survived its attack, assuming you do attack with it.

February 9, 2018 8:51 p.m.

Not_Sure says... #3

Ok, if i have a Wayfaring Temple 1/1 under my control and declared as a blocker against a Raging Goblin, once damage was delivered, would i be able to Fling the temple at a 1/1 goblin token destroying the token creature as well?

February 9, 2018 9:11 p.m.

No. Once upon a time that was possible. But as of current, damage does not use the stack, and once damage is delivered, both creatures will die before you have a chance to cast or activate anything.

February 9, 2018 9:18 p.m.

Please login to comment