Illusions of Grandeur and leaving the game

Asked by ZomBee_Hunt 11 months ago

Lets say I am in a 3 man pod (player A, B, C) I am player CSo I have donated Illusions of Grandeur to opponent A.

Then opponent B kills me. When I die, all cards that I own leave play right ?

This would mean that Illusions of Grandeur leaves play, but does it also mean opponent A looses 20 life because of that ? Or do my cards just kinda stop to exist ?

Boza says... #1

Yes to both, they are not exclusive.

You pick everything you own and that triggers Illusions of Grandeur. The person controlling it at the time will lose 20 life. Illusions does not care if it leaves the battlefield via Disenchant, its owner leaving the game, Flickerwisp or anything else. It will trigger regardless of how it left the battlefield.

January 12, 2017 7:13 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

Note that the reason Illusions of Grandeur triggers in this situation is because you don't control it. A player who's left the game can't put any spells or abilities onto the stack, but in this case your opponent is the one who controls the ability (as far as I can tell from the rules, abilities on the stack only have a "controller", not an "owner"). If you also controlled, for example, an Oblivion Ring exiling someone's creature, the Ring's 2nd ability won't be put onto the stack when you leave the game and the creature will stay exiled.

January 12, 2017 1:44 p.m.

This discussion has been closed