If someone takes a card with Gonti, Lord of Luxury and Gonti is enchanted with Arrest, can the card be cast?

Asked by magicsheep 4 months ago

Basically, an opponent (Player A) plays Gonti, Lord of Luxury and searches Player B's library. Player A finds the card, and exiles it face down. However, Player A passes the turn to Player B. Player B plays Arrest on Gonti, Lord of Luxury. Can Player A cast that card on their next turn?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

The card exiled with Gonti can be cast. Arrest only stops activated abilities. Gonti has a static ability (deathtouch) and a triggered ability that creates a continuous effect. Activated abilities are always written [cost]: [effect] such as the abilities on Polluted Delta, Llanowar Elves, or Grindstone.

February 13, 2018 8:34 p.m.

magicsheep says... #2

Thanks so much for your time and help Gidgetimer!

February 13, 2018 8:42 p.m.

Please login to comment