Frost Titan and non-cast Auras

Asked by Matsi883 2 years ago

In a recent Holiday Cube draft on XMage, I was playing against an opponent who cast a T1 Show and Tell (off a Black Lotus and Ancestral Recall. Yeah, Holiday Cube is awesome.) Anyway, I put a Song of the Dryads on the field and my opponent put a Frost Titan into play.

My question is, what happens now? Is the Song of the Dryads allowed to attach to a permanent. If so, do I have to pay for the Frost Titan's ability?

Devonin says... #1

303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a players control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesnt specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Auras enchant ability and any other applicable effects.

Since all permanents enter the battlefield simultaneously, they will all see each other enter, and so you will be able to attach the aura to the Frost Titan. Since auras only target on the stack, you will not be targeting Frost Titan and will not have to pay (2)

April 14, 2015 9:44 p.m.

Matsi883 says... #2

Thank you, Devonin.

April 14, 2015 9:49 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #3

Song of the Dryads can't be attached to Frost Titan in this example. Like the quoted rule says, the choice of object for Song is made "as the Aura enters the battlefield", meaning before it's actually on the battlefield. Show and Tell puts the permanents onto the battlefield simultaneously, so at the time the choice is made for Song of the Dryads the Frost Titan isn't yet on the battlefield. The Titan can't be chosen.

April 14, 2015 10:22 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Answer reselected.

April 14, 2015 11:56 p.m.

This discussion has been closed