Edgar Markov and Horizon Canopy?

Asked by Hunson_Abadeer 4 months ago

So I am not very familiar with the commander format.

I want to know if in my Edgar Markov commander deck I am allowed to run Horizon Canopy. It can take for a color of my commander’s but also one that is not.

I have heard both yes and no; I just want some clarification on this.

Thanks!

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

Welcome to commander!

The answer to your inquiry is a no - only cards with colored mana symbols from your commanders color identity are allowed. For Edgar Markov that is BWR; Horizon Canopy contains a green mana symbol, which makes it illegal for use in an Edgar Markov deck.

From Official rules of the format:

A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's rules text. A card's colour identity is established before the game begins, and cannot be changed by game effects.

Cards in a deck may not have any colours in their color identity which are not shared with the commander of the deck. (The identity of each card in the deck must be a subset of the Commander's)

June 8, 2018 10:48 a.m.

Hunson_Abadeer says... #2

Boza thank you!

So fetches like Polluted Delta would be a no go as well?

June 8, 2018 12:27 p.m.

cdkime says... #3

Fetches are 100% legal in any commander deck, as they do not have any coloured mana symbols in their rules text. It doesn't matter that it refers to cards that might be illegal to fetch (i.e. you can't fetch an Island in Edgar Markov).

June 8, 2018 12:36 p.m.

Hunson_Abadeer says... #4

cdkime awesome! Thank you!

June 8, 2018 12:52 p.m.

Please login to comment