does prolifirate activate doubling season?

Asked by GamblingMagic 7 months ago

i first prolifirate with atraxa at end on turn, can i stack doubling season effect to dounle counters adding?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Please link all cards in your question.

Atraxa, Praetors' Voice

Doubling Season

Yes, any time an effect would create a token under your control or put a counter on a permanent you control Doubling Season will double it.

August 8, 2018 11:56 p.m.

FancyTuesday says... #2

"An effect" meaning the resolution of a spell or ability. Proliferate is an ability and when it resolves it puts counters on permanents, that satisfies Doubling Season's replacement effect.

The most common cause of counters being placed on permanents through something other than an effect is as a cost, usually to activate Planeswalker abilities.

August 10, 2018 11:01 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

I hate being a pedant, but the rules of MTG are very precise and sometimes require it for clear understanding of interactions. Effects are the results of a spell or ability, not the resolution of spells or abilities. This matters in this specific case because there are static abilities and replacement effects that do not resolve, but do place counters on permanents that are doubled by Doubling Season. A short list off the top of my head are Hardened Scales, a second Doubling Season, "enters with counters" abilities such as on Primordial Hydra, Master Biomancer's ability, the ability that puts counters on planeswalkers when they etb, infect, and wither.

August 11, 2018 12:08 p.m.

Please login to comment