Creating a token that's a copy of a modal enchantment

Asked by hfvalenz 2 years ago

Since copying a modal spell, say Twincast targetting an Esper Charm the copy created has the same modes, does Fractured Identity targetting a Demonic Pact with the first three modes already chosen make copies of the enchantment with the only available mode "You lose the game."?

Same question goes with the Fate Reforged Siege cycle of enchantments, such as Citadel Siege , with the Khans mode chosen. Do the copies have the option to choose new modes?

acbooster says... Accepted answer #1

Each token is a new object with no link to the original. For Demonic Pact, this means that each opponent can use all of the modes. And with the sieges, they can choose a new mode if they wish.

From a gatherer ruling on Palace Siege - 11/24/2014 Each of the last two abilities is linked to the first ability. They each refer only to the choice made as a result of the first ability. If a permanent enters the battlefield as a copy of one of the Sieges, its controller will make a new choice for that Siege. Which ability the copy has wont depend on the choice made for the original permanent.

August 27, 2017 5:47 p.m.

hfvalenz says... #2

acbooster: I should try and improve my reading skills hehehe, I read the same ruling on sieges, but completely ignored the copy part for some reason.

August 27, 2017 8:35 p.m.

Please login to comment