Cloudshift and Zealous Conscript

Asked by duffman_76 6 years ago

Can you cloudshift an opponent's creature and have it become yours permanently?

Emrakool says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. When Cloudshift exiles the creature you gained control of with Zealous Conscripts it reenters the battlefield as a different creature and the EOT effect of Conscripts no longer applies.

June 6, 2012 2:38 a.m.

Demarge says... #2

Another thing is you can Zealous Conscripts an opponent's Venser, the Sojourner and then have venser +2 targeting himself and after that he's yours forever!

June 6, 2012 7:34 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

@Demarge: Venser, the Sojourner says "target permanent you own". If you take him from someone else, he's an illegal target for that ability.

June 6, 2012 8:02 a.m.

Demarge says... #4

oh hey... missed that part, good thing that hasn't come up in a tournament yet.

June 6, 2012 5:56 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

Yeah, in a match I played at an FNM last year, I hit Liliana Vess 's ultimate against a guy, and then on his next turn he played Venser, the Sojourner . The whole time I was silently saying to myself "please don't read Venser, please don't read Venser", and lucky for me he didn't get that part of the ability either (because he could have used it to get all his stuff back, probably starting with the Baneslayer Angel I took from his graveyard).

June 6, 2012 6:43 p.m.

This discussion has been closed