Can I use a newly placed +1/+1 with Rishkar, Peema Renegade counter in a creature to activate Animation Module?

Asked by acefalo 6 months ago

I don't know whether the following cases are different or completely equal, but the key is that the second creature is not a mana dork in itself:

Case 1: Turn 1: Animation Module Turn 2: Storm Crow Turn 3: Rishkar, Peema Renegade giving himself and Storm Crow a +1/+1 counter.

Case 2: Turn 1: Animation Module Turn 2: Scrounging Bandar Turn 3: Rishkar, Peema Renegade giving himself and Scrounging Bandar a +1/+1 counter.

Same question both cases: Can the creature be tapped in order to activate Animation Module and put a Servo token after casting Rishkar, Peema Renegade?

Thank you.

HorridBEAST says... #1

Yes. In either case the Animation Module triggers after Rishkar's ability has resolved. You now have the Module's ability on the stack and can tap your creature for mana to pay the cost of the Module

April 20, 2017 3:34 p.m.

Neotrup says... #2

Note you'll only be able to use the Storm Crow/Scrounging Bandar for mana, as Rishkar, Peema Renegade will still be summoning sick and unable to tap for mana.

April 20, 2017 3:41 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Note that Animation Module has only one activated ability, which is the one that adds a counter to something.

If you say "activate," you indicate that you're activating an activated ability. Triggered abilities, such as Animation Module's first ability, trigger automatically when a certain condition is met.

What you're doing in this case is paying an optional cost during the resolution of a triggered ability.

April 20, 2017 5:58 p.m.

acefalo says... #4

But the creature is a mana dork when Rishkar, Peema Renegade ETB (simultaneous habilities/triggers may be?), may I use that mana to create a Servo token?

thanks

April 21, 2017 7:39 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #5

When Rishkar, Peema Renegade enters the battlefield, its second ability, which is a static ability, begins applying.

Additionally, Rishkar, Peema Renegade's first ability triggers. You put the triggered ability onto the stack and choose targets for it.

Now, at this point, you can actually tap Scrounging Bandar for mana because it already has a counter on it. However, you'll need to wait to tap Storm Crow until Rishkar, Peema Renegade's first ability resolves.

When Rishkar, Peema Renegade's first ability resolves, Animation Module's ability triggers once or twice, depending on how many creatures you targeted with the ability and put counters on. You can tap your Scrounging Bandar or Storm Crow for mana to pay for one of those abilities, but you can't tap Rishkar, Peema Renegade itself because it has summoning sickness.

April 21, 2017 8:10 a.m.

acefalo says... #6

Thank you all.

April 21, 2017 9:16 a.m.

Please login to comment