Challenge : Planeswalker Bonaza
Posted on March 13, 2018, 9:19 a.m. by Sulk
This challenge is simple : build a deck that uses at least one of each planeswalker character legal in modern. The only other cards legal (execpt lands) is the Chain Veil and Mirror Gallery. Your deck is not aloud to intetact with cards outside the game. Show me what you got!
That puts you at 33 Planeswalkers. You almost certainly need to use the rest of it for lands right? Since you are in, not only 5 colors but double colored mana in a few cases? Maybe can squeeze in one or two of the better walkers? But deck seems already built just by the restrictions.
March 13, 2018 10:48 a.m. Edited.
May I submit the suggestion to not be required to use the singleton planeswalkers like Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver or Koth of the Hammer, or to require only one or two? This should increase deck variety while still (mostly) sticking to the spirit of the challenge.
March 13, 2018 11:23 a.m.
Sounds good, I just want to see a super friends on steroids!
March 14, 2018 1:07 a.m.
March 14, 2018 9:37 a.m.
So, updated rules:
Must have at least one of every planeswalker that has seen multiple printings
Must contain two planeswalkers with a single printing
Does this look good?
March 15, 2018 10:41 a.m.
That's as close as I've come to the spirit of the challenge. It has 20 unique walkers. The issues I'm having with it is that often you can't do anything, even with perfect mana, until turn 4.
March 15, 2018 10:55 a.m.
I like the idea of useing loads of Origins walkers,as they can maybe protect the walkers
March 16, 2018 8:09 a.m.
They also, while weaker give you earlier plays, I'll adjust and come back.
March 16, 2018 2:43 p.m.
Question: What about Oath of Teferi?
I already have an Esper Superfriends deck I'm still tinkering around with that uses Veil and Oath to seriously pump up the 'Walkers. Seriously, when you bring out Jace, the Mind Sculptor with both Veil and Oath, you can ult T2 of him being in play. It's sick.
REMINDER: Oath says SPECIFICALLY you may activate the ability TWICE. If you use your 'Walker's ability, than tap The Chain Veil, you just used the ability for the second time - Oath can not be used anymore.
And Veil's wording is also specific: "As though none-"
What this means is, you must put these abilities on the stack (And let them resolve) in a very specific way.
- Activate your Planeswalker ability and make sure your opponent knows this is what you are doing
- Specifically state you wish to use Oath's ability, since this will satisfy the "twice" text
- Tap your four lands, tap Veil, and state you wish to use Veil's activated ability "as though none have been activated" this turn
Now you get three uses in a single turn. Enjoy.
My 'Walkers in my Esper Superfriends deck are; Jace, the Mind Sculptor, Liliana of the Veil, Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver, and Sorin, Lord of Innistrad by the way. The deck is designed to mill and let me take control of your shit. I get to play your deck for you.