Yes, "another" Diaochan question.

Asked by Azeworai 1 month ago

Yes, another query about this nocent folk, Diaochan .

So, I have finished her deck, but only just considered another minutia with her rules text that is not covered in the oracle.

Whenever I tap her , I choose a creature to target—let us say Deadly Recluse . Thereupon, an opponent chooses a creature. Are they able to choose the same Deadly Recluse as was previously targeted in the same activation of the ability, or must something else be chosen given the opportunity?

The keyword "another" is not divulged in the text, yet I still wish to be aware of each rule before I put this in the command zone with confidence.

As may have been mentioned on your last post of a similar nature, the "Rules Q&A" at the top of the page (or in the drop-down list from the three lines on mobile) is the place for this sort of thing. Thanks!

As to your actual question, Diaochan-san's rules text handily drops the word "any". And that is the basis for my answer that your opponent may target any creature.

May 4, 2021 2:03 a.m.

saluma says... #2

I did a quick search om scryfall and the updated text is ": Tap. Destroy target creature of your choice, then destroy target creature of an opponent’s choice. Activate only during your turn, before attackers are declared." So they cant choose a creature before the creature you chose is destroyed.

May 4, 2021 9:55 a.m.

TriusMalarky says... #3

Actually, saluma, I'm pretty sure that "target" means that all targets are chosen before the ability resolves(when it's still going on the stack). There are very few cards where that isn't the case.

But it doesn't matter much because it all resolves at the same time.

May 4, 2021 10:03 a.m.

Azeworai says... #4

Omniscience_is_life - Oh, my apologies for the misplaced rules question. This simply eluded me.

All targets are chosen at the same time once it enters the stack, and the ability does not state "when that creature dies," thus there is no reflexive trigger. It all resolves at the same time in terms of stack resolution and does not account for state-based actions until it is finished.

I am decently positive they can choose the same creature, this was more so a confirmation of this belief.

Thank you very much.

May 4, 2021 10:17 a.m. Edited.

Caerwyn says... #5

Moving this to Rules Q&A. I am also going to mark an answer as accepted since it seems you have resolved your question.

May 4, 2021 11:11 a.m.

Named_Tawyny says... Accepted answer #6

Just to add some rules context here, when a card has multiple uses of the word 'target' the same object can be chosen for each of them, so long as it meets targeting restrictions.

115.3. The same target can’t be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word “target” on a spell or ability. If the spell or ability uses the word “target” in multiple places, the same object or player can be chosen once for each instance of the word “target” (as long as it fits the targeting criteria). This rule applies both when choosing targets for a spell or ability and when changing targets or choosing new targets for a spell or ability (see rule 115.7).

The only targeting restrictions here are that they need to target a creature (and that the second target is of your opponent's choice). So they can both be targeted at the same creature.

May 4, 2021 6:33 p.m.

Azeworai says... #7

Named_Tawyny - That offers splendid certitude. Thank you.

May 4, 2021 7:09 p.m.

Please login to comment