More of a re-joiner than an old player. Got out 'round about Ice Age, and just got back in halfway through Theros. Still missing interrupts. ;)

Why am I called 'Named_Tawyny'? Because I was tired when I signed up, and managed to typo Tawny, that's why.

Please login to comment

Sorry, library/hand/exile/etc... they exist as permanent cards.

But just as 'permanent' they need to be on the battlefield.

May 10, 2021 11:58 p.m.

A permanent is a creature, artifact, planeswalker, land, or enchantment on the battlefield.

(they are permanent spells while on the stack, and permanent cards while in your library or on the battlefield (if they're non tokens)).

Basically anything that isn't an instant or sorcery.

May 10, 2021 11:56 p.m.

Said on Did People Like …...

#3

Mtg_Mega_Nerds the great thing about Mystical Archive is that, for most cards, you're actually going to be spending LESS on them than you would have if MA never existed.

It's a win for players and a win for collectors.

May 10, 2021 10:20 p.m.

Said on Lure + Afflict...

#4

From the rulings on the Gatherer Page

"7/14/2017 If multiple creatures block a creature with afflict, afflict triggers only once."

May 8, 2021 3:05 p.m.

I was wrong.

So per Matt Tabak it is an 'additional instruction' which (as Yesterday correctly identified) is part of the triggered ability.

Despite being part of the triggered ability, as an additional instruction, it exists outside of that ability, so it does not need wait for resolution.

Given that, it looks like yes, it would take precedence over Teysa's ability, and you'd only get the one token.

May 8, 2021 11:44 a.m.

You know something? I'm tweeting at Matt Tabak to ask. Because I'm confused and I hear he knows a little bit about Magic rules. ;)

May 7, 2021 5:41 p.m.

It functions as a static ability because (in order to be valid) it has to exist outside of the resolution of the ability.

If it didn't, you could trigger the ability multiple times, so long as the first one hadn't yet resolved (even if Teysa wasn't around). But that isn't the case here - the ability functions even before resolution.

May 7, 2021 5:26 p.m.

This is a great question!

So rule 101.2 reads that "101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can’t happen, the “can’t”effect takes precedence."

which is the general rule. If Dramatic Finale read "This effect can't trigger more than once per turn" then that would be the end of it. However, in this case, neither Dramatic Finale nor Teysa Karlov specifically say that something "can't" happen.

When two conflicting static abilities are both on the field at the same time, timestamp order usually takes effect. So the one that existed first will happen first, and then the one that happened second will overwrite that and (usually) take precedence.

So the question then becomes, which was on the battlefield first?

If Teysa was first on the battlefield, and then Dramatic Finale was played, then you would only get the trigger once. However, if Dramatic Finale was on the field first, and THEN Teysa was played, I believe her effect would overwrite, and you'd get the second trigger.

I've only ever been an L1 judge, and I haven't been a judge for a few years. I'm pretty sure that this is how it would work, but I'm open to being corrected

May 7, 2021 12:54 a.m.

You can't cast Mirrorweave targeting a legendary creature.

It has a targeting restriction that only allows you to target a nonlegendary creature.

May 7, 2021 12:25 a.m.

Said on Are there any …...

#10

I'd love to see more Will of the Council type mechanics. EDH is best when it's social and multiplayer, and Will of the Council really drives home both of those.

May 6, 2021 6:53 p.m.

Said on Pull from Eternity...

#11

Yes. The only restriction that Pull from Eternity has is that it needs to target a card that is both i) face up, and ii) in exile.

How it got to exile doesn't matter. It could be from a removal spell, it could be from impulse draw, or it could have put itself there. As long as the card is face up and in exile, pull from eternity can move it to the Graveyard

May 6, 2021 1:14 a.m.

No. The wording on the ruling is letting people know that Thunderous Orator gets the named ability that other creature(s) you control have.

It's worded that way because there's a possibility that without that ruling, somebody could think that Thunderous Orator would always just gain flying if another creature you control had indestructible, or etc...

May 6, 2021 1:10 a.m.

Rings of Brighthearth doesn't have any activated abilities.

An activated ability is an ability that takes the form of 'cost: do x'

Since there's no activated ability, the Rings doesn't have anything to copy.

May 4, 2021 11:53 p.m.

The value of X is determined as the ability resolves.

So both abilities would be on the stack. The copy would resolve first, creating a 1/1. Then Oviya's ability will resolve, see two creatures on the field, and create a 2/2.

May 4, 2021 11:05 p.m.

Said on How do You …...

#15

Secret lair reprints are beautiful and lovely - I can't imagine why I'd have a problem with somebody using them.

Secret lair exclusive cards though (like the Walking Dead) for me fall into the same category as the Moxen do. The Moxen are banned not strictly for power level, but because they're so rare/exclusive that most players can't have access to them, so it creates a lot of feel bads if only some do.

I'd rather not see any Walking Dead cards in my playgroup, and would probably ask somebody to play a different deck if they tried to use them.

May 4, 2021 6:39 p.m.

Just to add some rules context here, when a card has multiple uses of the word 'target' the same object can be chosen for each of them, so long as it meets targeting restrictions.

115.3. The same target can’t be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word “target” on a spell or ability. If the spell or ability uses the word “target” in multiple places, the same object or player can be chosen once for each instance of the word “target” (as long as it fits the targeting criteria). This rule applies both when choosing targets for a spell or ability and when changing targets or choosing new targets for a spell or ability (see rule 115.7).

The only targeting restrictions here are that they need to target a creature (and that the second target is of your opponent's choice). So they can both be targeted at the same creature.

May 4, 2021 6:33 p.m.

Said on Spelltable?...

#17

So that's a no to having a functional way of stealing cards from other players and putting them on your board?

May 4, 2021 6:16 p.m.

Said on Spelltable?...

#18

Hey Friends! Has anybody been using Spelltable for their commander games lately?

I read through the FAQ, but it doesn't actually have any of the questions that I care about - and the support has taken a week to reply (still waiting). Was hoping somebody has some insight...

Is there digital interaction with cards? eg can we have it put digital token creatures onto the battlefield, or do we need to have our own tokens? Can it put +1/+1 counters on cards that are on the table?

How does Spelltable work with decks designed around cards like Control Magic or Dragonlord Silumgar ? Is there any way to 'give' a card from one player to another?

It seems neat, but it really has no documentation on its functionality.

Thanks!

May 4, 2021 12:45 a.m.

FormOverFunction

"I feel like the avatars are in a better position to be given the god subtype than most others. Having said that, I feel like anything that didn’t start with that subtype won’t be getting it."

I mean, in the original Theros, when Gods were introduced, there was a character who didn't start as a God who then did gain the God subtype later on. So it's clearly possible.

Xenagos, the Reveler , Xenagos, God of Revels

May 2, 2021 10:44 p.m.

They felt that MV was more approachable and intuitive than CMC for new players.

May 2, 2021 1:03 p.m.

Followers

JANKYARD_DOGShiltonCDXXsnotice

Decks

Strange Utopia

Modern* Named_Tawyny

SCORE: 10 | 11 COMMENTS | 1791 VIEWS

Reaver Shenanigans

Legacy* Named_Tawyny

1 COMMENT | 30 VIEWS

Talk to the Hand... it speaks FIRE

Standard Named_Tawyny

SCORE: 2 | 6 COMMENTS | 818 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Mardu One-Drops

Standard Named_Tawyny

SCORE: 5 | 15 COMMENTS | 2926 VIEWS

Standard Enchantments

Standard* Named_Tawyny

SCORE: 3 | 9 COMMENTS | 559 VIEWS

Bosh, with the Heat

Commander / EDH Named_Tawyny

SCORE: 5 | 32 COMMENTS | 1834 VIEWS

Clerics, and Spirits, and Demons, oh my!

Commander / EDH* Named_Tawyny

SCORE: 3 | 9 COMMENTS | 1078 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Nine Letters: Colbert's thoughts on this animal

Modern* Named_Tawyny

SCORE: 5 | 18 COMMENTS | 683 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

Finished Decks 26
Prototype Decks 18
Drafts 0
Playing since Arabian Nights
Avg. deck rating 4.29
T/O Rank 26
Helper Rank 660
Good Card Suggestions 12
Venues P Market, Penticton Sports Cards and Collectibles
Last activity 2 hours
Joined 7 years