Would this work?
Asked by Postmortal_Pop 8 years ago
For this situation let's say we're running a modified 2014 green precon.
You have Freyalise, Llanowar's Fury on the field and you cast Song of the Dryads on her. Then you use Elvish Branchbender on the forest that she becomes, she's still your commander, so would the damage that she does count as commander damage?
This same effect can be done with Karn, Silver Golem and Mycosynth Lattice for any other deck.
Raging_Squiggle says... #2
Yes.
"Commander-ness" is a quality of the card itself, so even if it's turned to a land, or flipped face down (from Ixidron), it will still have that quality and deal commander damage when combat damage is dealt.
July 22, 2016 1:22 p.m.
Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #3
Yes. Rule 10 from mtgcommander.net (the official place for commander rules) is:
Being a Commander is not a characteristic [MTG CR109.3], it is a property of the card and tied directly to the physical card. As such, "Commander-ness" cannot be copied or overwritten by continuous effects. The card retains it's commanderness through any status changes, and is still a commander even when controlled by another player.
July 22, 2016 1:24 p.m.
Raging_Squiggle says... #4
903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones.
July 22, 2016 1:27 p.m.
Wow. You learn something new everyday! Sorry for the misinformation.
DrFunk27 says... #1
I don't think so. Song of the Dryad's takes away all abiliites, types, etc. That permanent then becomes a colorless forest. Unlike Mycosynth, which makes everything an artifact IN ADDITION TO their other types, etc.
July 22, 2016 1:21 p.m.