Wild Pair Questions

Asked by Ezrius 10 years ago

Just a couple quick questions on Wild Pair shenanigans, as I'm considering putting together a Simic or Sultai deck for casual play, and I find the card fun to build around.

1) If you have a Master Biomancer in play, can you adjust the priority of the two abilities to have Wild Pair activate first, or does MBMs ability always function because it's static, thus potentially ruining a plan to drop, say, Chasm Skulker and fish out Prime Speaker Zegana?

2) If you play something via Madness (e.g. Basking Rootwalla), is that still considered being played from your hand to activate Wild Pair, or is the space between the hand and graveyard (discard) its own zone?

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

Rules questions should be asked in the MTG Q&A section in the header bad.

otherwise, here is what you are looking for:

1/ MB creates a replacement effect that modifies how the creatures enter the battlefield. It is not a trigger, so you cannot stack it with WP's triggers. You have no choice in it - the creatures will enter the battlefield with additional counters on them.

2/ 702.34a Madness is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with madness is in a players hand. The second is a triggered ability that functions when the first ability is applied. Madness [cost] means If a player would discard this card, that player discards it, but may exile it instead of putting it into his or her graveyard and When this card is exiled this way, its owner may cast it by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. If that player doesnt, he or she puts this card into his or her graveyard.

Cards with madness are not cast from your hand, but from exile, so they do not interact with WP.

February 13, 2015 10:36 a.m.

Ezrius says... #2

Thanks.

February 13, 2015 10:49 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

There's a banner above the thread creation field that specifies that rule questions belong in the Q&A. Make sure you follow that advice.

Moved to BE because I can't move to Q&A.

February 13, 2015 12:23 p.m.

This discussion has been closed