Whip and death

Asked by thewyzman 6 years ago

If I Whip of Erebos a creature in like Satyr Wayfinder and it gets blocked by anything that could kill it, like an enemy Courser of Kruphix , does the Wayfinder still die, before it's exiled at the end step, so as to trigger something like my own Dictate of Erebos ?

Another example would be if I whip in Ashen Rider but it's blocked by an Abhorrent Overlord or even just a hornet token. Does the Rider die as to trigger it's death effect before it's exiled at end step?

pskinn01 says... #1

9/15/2013 The exiled creature is never put into the graveyard. Any abilities the creature has that trigger when it dies wont trigger.

October 5, 2014 9:59 p.m.

filledelanuit says... Accepted answer #2

No. the Whip of Erebos creates a replacement effect on the creature that replaces dying, and other things, with being exiled. The replacement effect means that the effect being replaced will never happen. So in this case neither Dictate of Erebos nor Ashen Rider would trigger because they never died they were just exiled.

October 5, 2014 10 p.m.

thewyzman says... #3

Ok, I thought maybe just taking lethal damage caused the whipped creature to die, but just got exiled instead of going to the graveyard, kinda like when a token dies but never goes to the yard.

Thanks

October 5, 2014 10:17 p.m.

pskinn01 says... #4

A token does go the graveyard, it just ceases to exists the moment it gets there. Which is why when tokens die they trigger dictate and other "die" effects.

October 5, 2014 10:27 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

@thewyzman: You're missing that "dies" has a very specific meaning: "is put into a graveyard from the battlefield." A creature can be destroyed or otherwise leave the battlefield (e.g. due to sacrifice or having 0 or less toughness), but that doesn't necessarily mean the creature died. It only died if it moved from the battlefield to the graveyard. If it went to any other zone, it did not die, and on-death abilities will not trigger for it.

October 5, 2014 11:28 p.m.

This discussion has been closed