What happens if you target Azcanta, the Sunken Ruin with Ixalan's Binding ?

Asked by Argy 3 years ago

Does that prevent the owner of Azcanta, the Sunken Ruin from casting Search for Azcanta  Flip?

Argy says... #1

Oops, my apologies.

Just noticed that you can't target the land side with Search for Azcanta  Flip.

March 20, 2018 9:09 a.m.

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #2

While you've answered your own question, I was intrigued by the issue and did a quick look through the rules for my own edification. I figured I'd pass along my results on the off-chance you ever see a legal version of this interaction.

When a card like Lord of Lineage is put in any zone other than the battlefield, it only has the characteristics of Bloodline Keeper  Flip (Rule 711.4a). It is still the same object, and still the card exiled with Ixalan's Binding, it just has a different name now than when exiled.

This means the "exiled card" would be named Bloodline Keeper  Flip and your opponents would be unable to cast spells with that name.

March 20, 2018 9:32 a.m.

Argy says... #3

cdkime thanks for the input.

I guess the whole Exile and return to the battlefield interaction kind of makes sense.

When it comes back to the field it will return sunny side up. Therefore it is that side up in Exile.

March 20, 2018 4:20 p.m.

Please login to comment