the stack on my opponents turn

Asked by -Orvos- 11 years ago

How do multiple triggers or abilities that i control get put on the stack during my opponents turn does he decide or do i?

Example: my opponent has a Guttersnipe and a Young Pyromancer on the battlefield and casts Lightning Bolt . I have a Murmuring Phantasm 2x Renegade Krasis and a Master Biomancer in play and i counter his Lightning Bolt with Swan Song .

What happens and who decides in what order and why?

I fully understand that that example is a crazy mess but i need to understand this little rule. Ill bet there is a super simple answer that didnt even require my example to get, but please helo me!

-Orvos- says... #1

*Edit

Read Swan Song wrong so instead of me countering his Lightning Bolt say i respond to it by casting Bioshift and then countering my Bioshift with a Swan Song

April 24, 2014 3:22 p.m.

raithe000 says... #2

All triggers is put on the stack in APNAP (Active Player Non-Active Player) order. First the active player (the person whose turn it is) puts all triggers he controls on the stack in whatever order he desires. Then the non-active player (the player whose turn it is not) puts all of his triggers on the stack in whatever order he chooses. The stack then resolves as normal (each player gets priority before the topmost item on the stack resolves).

In your example, your opponent first casts Lightning Bolt. This triggers Guttersnipe and Young Pyromancer, so your opponent gets to put his triggers on the stack. The order does not particularly matter in this scenario. You then Swan Song his Bolt. Assuming nothing else happens, this does not trigger any other abilities, so when it resolves, your opponent's Bolt will be countered and he will get a 2/2 bird. However, the other triggers on the stack will still resolve, so you will still take 2 damage from Guttersnipe and your opponent will still get a 1/1 elemental token.

April 24, 2014 3:25 p.m.

Sam_I_am says... #3

A few points here

  1. Nothing you own will cause a trigger in the first place.

  2. Each player chooses the order of their own triggers. If you actually did control some triggered abilities, you would choose the order they went onto the stack.

  3. The triggers are put onto the stack in APNAP order. The player who's turn it is puts his/her triggers on the stack first, than the other player puts his/her triggers on the stack.

April 24, 2014 3:25 p.m.

raithe000 says... Accepted answer #4

To answer the edited question, with Bolt and your opponent's two triggers on the stack, you will cast Bioshift and then Swan Song it. This will cause a Bird to enter the battlefield under your control, so Master Biomancer's replacement effect will apply, causing the bird to enter as a 4/4. Assuming that Renegade Krasis has less than 2 counters on it, it will evolve, which will go on top of the stack above your opponent's stuff (which is still there this whole time). Then the Krasis's second triggered ability will trigger, also going on top of the stack, and giving your 4/4 bird another counter, making it a 5/5. Then your opponent's triggers and Bolt will resolve, giving him a 1/1 elemental and dealing 2 damage to you and 3 damage to Bolt's target.

April 24, 2014 3:29 p.m.

-Orvos- says... #5

Sorry i messed up on my question, i edited it in the first post. Please read that

April 24, 2014 3:30 p.m.

-Orvos- says... #6

Thanks, that makes sense

April 24, 2014 3:31 p.m.

This discussion has been closed