Temporary Control into Permanent Control
Asked by GenericNPC 10 years ago
I'm looking for clarification.
If I cast a spell that grants temporary control of a creature or creatures, which then puts it in a state that I can target it with a permanent control effect, the permanence is valid?
609.3. If an effect attempts to do something impossible, it does only as much as possible.
Basically I'm wondering if:
Conspiracy + Insurrection + Sliver Overlord or
Hivestone + Insurrection + Sliver Overlord
would allow a player to pick and choose which creatures he or she may want to maintain control of after the turn ends, mana permitting.
aeonstoremyliver says... #2
Oops. Yes, if you have Conspiracy and Sliver Overlord out, then cast Insurrection , you would be able to permanently gain control of those creatures that Insurrection allowed you to, pending Sliver Overlord 's activation, permanently.
June 26, 2014 4:48 a.m.
themindbullet says... #3
Amoeboid Changeling , Blades of Velis Vel , Shields of Velis Vel , Wings of Velis Vel .
If you are trying to steal your opponents creatures with Sliver Overlord , these may be a little easier to pull off. I think there's a blue enchantment that does something similar as well.
The ways you have listed are very mana intensive and three card combos are very tricky to pull off reliably.
June 26, 2014 9:19 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #4
Control-changing effects are one of the "layers" in the system used for figuring out how different effects interact. For two effects in the same layer, the newest one will take over (minus some exceptions that don't apply to your example).
In your example, the activations of Sliver Overlord have a newer "timestamp" than Insurrection , so they take precedence. When the Insurrection effect wears off, it doesn't change the fact that the Overlord effects are still in place. You keep the creatures.
June 26, 2014 9:25 a.m.
GenericNPC says... #5
Sorry about the mispost. I read all the forum descriptions. Didn't realize Q&A was a thing. Still kind of new to this site.
Didn't know about those Velis Vel cards. Ill take a look at those. I know which blue enchantment you're referring to though its name escapes me.
June 26, 2014 11:32 a.m.
Epochalyptik says... #6
I can't convert this to a rules question. Moved to BE.
aeonstoremyliver says... #1
Any sorts of rules related questions should be asked in the Q&A. Please read forum descriptions before posting. MTG: Q&A is located in the drop bar on the upper left hand header bar.
Insurrection only effects creatures on the battlefield, to answer your question bluntly.
June 26, 2014 4:43 a.m.