Rally and Flipwalkers

Asked by Wabbbit 5 years ago

If I cast Rally the Ancestors returning a Jace, Vryn's Prodigy  Flip to the field and he flips, will he still get exiled even if he's not a creature anymore?

Wabbbit says... #1

Oh. Jace is a bad example because he can't tapas soon as he comes in. So let's change it to a Liliana, Heretical Healer  Flip who flips on the turn I return her from exile with Rally.

August 10, 2015 2:02 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

No, but only because the planeswalkers exile themselves in order to transform (not flip). When an object changes zones, it becomes a new object. The exile effect won't apply because the planeswalker that returned from exile is not the same object that Rally the Ancestors returned.

If the card simply transformed without leaving the battlefield, it would be the same object and would be exiled. Rally the Ancestors doesn't care about types after it resolves.

August 10, 2015 2:11 p.m.

Oxman_451 says... #3

You get to keep the planeswalker, because it's a new object and rally won't recognize it anymore. You can get the same effect from flicker effects like Cloudshift. Incidentally, if you have two Lilianas in your graveyard she'll get to flip right away, because one of them has to be sacrificed to the planeswalker uniqueness rule. FUN!

August 10, 2015 7:21 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Note that the planeswalker uniqueness rule does not cause sacrifice. You merely put the extra planeswalkers into their owner's graveyard.

August 10, 2015 7:25 p.m.

Oxman_451 says... #5

Yeah, I shouldn't have said sacrifice. Also, looking back it's the legend rule in this case not the planeswalker uniqueness rule that puts one of the Lilianas into the graveyard. The other one still sees it as a dies trigger and flips, but that was a good catch Epochalyptik.

August 10, 2015 7:38 p.m.

This discussion has been closed