Pyromancer Ascension and Grapeshot Interaction

Asked by GlistenerAgent 11 years ago

Let's say I have a Pyromancer Ascension with two counters on it, and a storm count of 10. If I cast Grapeshot , will it deal my opponent 12 or 22 damage? To rephrase, does Pyromancer Ascension copy Grapeshot s storm ability, or just the one damage it deals?

PrimeEpoch says... Accepted answer #1

No, you won't copy the copies of Grapeshot . Remember that Pyromancer Ascension only triggers when you cast a spell, and copying the spell doesn't count as casting it.

Storm specifically says 'copy it for each spell you played before it this turn'. You don't cast the copies, the same as you don't cast tokens from Trostani, Selesnya's Voice .

Anyway, if you copied a spell, and that counted as you casting it, then Pyromancer Ascension would be broken, because you would infinitely copy the copies.

February 7, 2014 6 p.m.

GlistenerAgent says... #2

@nayaftw Right. I knew that... :) Thanks!

February 7, 2014 6:04 p.m.

raithe000 says... #3

Pyromancer Ascension will create a copy of Grapeshot. However, since that copy was created on the stack, it was not cast, and so the copy's storm ability will not trigger. You also can't copy the storm copies for the reasons nayaftw said. So you will be able to deal 12 damage, divided as you like.

February 7, 2014 6:04 p.m.

PrimeEpoch says... #4

thispersonisagenius it's no problem, we all make play errors. I've had a fair few worse than this lol, but that's how we get better :)

February 7, 2014 6:08 p.m.

STABtrain says... #5

I just bought the storm deck so This explanation helps a bit but I have a small question hopefully someone could help me with, If I have 2 Pyromancer Ascension out on the field, and both of them have 2 quest counters on it, and then I cast something like say Manamorphose, would that mean that I just made 8 mana and drew 4 cards? or If I cast Desperate Ritual would that generate 12 red mana? knowing for a fact how it works would be really helpful because it can be painfully awkward when you're half way through storming out and you completely flub the combo because you missed potential mana/ card draw? Also can you pay life when giving Gitaxian Probe flashback through Past in Flames?

June 29, 2015 12:03 a.m.

PlatonicOrb says... #6

Same ruling applies for 2 pyromancer ascensions, for each active one you have you only get one additional copy. So only 3 total spells (for 2 active ascensions) would happen at resolution. Copies aren't cast. So the ascension does not work as broken of a way as a card like doubling season by stacking doubling effects (if I understand the way doubling season works that is haha)

December 25, 2015 4:43 a.m.

This discussion has been closed