Player Hexproof and Graveyard hate

Asked by zigkid3 6 months ago

If my opponent has Leyline of Sanctity or Witchbane Orb can I still exile their graveyard with Bojuka Bog or Tormod's Crypt?

Boza says... #1

No. Both cards mention "target player's graveyard" and you cannot target the player in this case.

January 2, 2020 3:34 a.m.

zigkid3 says... #2

But aren't you only targeting their graveyard? The phrase "target player's graveyard" uses 'player's' as an adjective. So the phrase would be "target adjective graveyard" = target graveyard.

January 4, 2020 5:15 p.m.

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #3

No, the phrase is using "player's" as a possessive noun, not an adjective. You could reword the phrase as "the graveyard of target player" and it would mean the same thing.

If the ability intended to target the graveyard and not the player, it would be worded "target graveyard" rather than worrying about including the word "player's."

January 4, 2020 6:17 p.m.

Please login to comment