If you have an acivated ability that says copy target spell, and that spell has an X cost that you have paid, do you also copy the X cost?
Asked by insertcleverid 12 years ago
So can I copy Epic Experiment , Bonfire of the Damned etc?
RedMurderDemon says... #2
From what I have learned in my play group that when you copy a spell after paying the cost + X that if you copy that spell that it will indeed copy the amount of mana you paid for the cast.
December 17, 2012 2:36 p.m.
ArantirTheDestroyer says... #3
You don't have to pay the X mana twice, if that's what you're asking. The value for X replaces all instances of "X" in the the text of the card after it is cast, so when it is copied, the values given for X are retained, while you don't have to pay the mana again. i.e. if I cast a card:Red Sun's Zenith for 4 and Reverberate it, a copy of the card:Red Sun's Zenith for 4 will be cast at no additional cost.
December 17, 2012 2:50 p.m.
When you put a spell on the stack, you choose X and pay for it; it can't be copied until it is on the stack. Then, once it is on the stack and all the modes, costs, and targets are chosen, you can copy it. All modes, costs, and targets will stay the same, unless the copy effects specifically says 'you may choose new targets for the copy.'
So yes, if you cast a miracled Bonfire and pay 5R, then copy it, the copy will resolve first and deal 5 damage to your opponent + creatures; then the original will resolve and do the same thing.
December 17, 2012 3:13 p.m.
The official MTG rule says :
- 706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original objectscharacteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode,targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). Thecopiable values are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name,mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, expansion symbol, rules text, power,toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by as . . . enters the battlefield andas . . . is turned face up abilities that set characteristics, and by abilities that caused the object tobe face down. Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, andcounters are not copied.
December 17, 2012 3:19 p.m.
mellophone11 says... #6
Sort of a parallel question, but what happens when I copy Fling ? Is the additional cost paid already? I always thought you couldn't sacrifice the same creature for multiple effects.
December 17, 2012 4:19 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #7
It's true that you can't sacrifice one thing to pay multiple costs, but that's not what's going on in this situation. You already paid the cost to cast the original Fling , including sacrificing a creature. Using Reverberate , etc. creates an additional copy of Fling without having to go through the casting process, so you don't sacrifice anything else. Any information that has to do with how the original was cast is also copied, so a copy of a Fling that was paid for by sacrificing Hellrider will also deal 3 damage.
hollandboys says... #1
The effect of the spell is copied, so if Bonfire of the Damned is dealing 2 damage to each creature or player, it will deal 2 damage to each creature or player twice (ie 4 damage)
December 17, 2012 2:34 p.m.