If one activation of Mangara of Corondor is "countered," will they ALL be countered?

Asked by Pheardemons 3 years ago

Scenario: lets say I have Mangara of Corondor , Thousand-Year Elixir , and Staff of Domination on my side of the battlefield. I activate Mangara of Corondor 's ability targeting opponent A's commander. Holding priority, I activate Thousand-Year Elixir to untap Mangara of Corondor , and tapping it again to target opponent B's commander. Again, holding priority, I untap Mangara of Corondor with Staff of Domination , to activate her ability again, to target opponent C's commander. At this point, I have targeted three creatures before Mangara of Corondor 's ability has resolved. Let's say, after I let go of priority, that opponent A saves his commander by casting Restoration Angel on his commander.

I understand that the first ability has now been "countered," but does that mean that the other two activations are also "countered?"

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

The first ability fizzles, but it does not affect any of the other abilities in any way.

December 13, 2017 10:15 a.m.

Pheardemons says... #2

Thank you!

December 13, 2017 10:30 a.m.

You'd have to pass priority after activating Thousand-Year Elixir in order for it to resolve an untap Mangara. Still though, should Opponent A wait until the end of this chain to cast Restoration Angel, or even should they cast it after you pass priority to resolve the Elixir, it won't affect Mangara's ability to continue the chain an exile the other two players commanders.

December 13, 2017 4:05 p.m.

Please login to comment