How does Turn the Tables work?

Asked by Emzed 3 years ago

If I attack with two Temple Altisaur and one gets targeted by Turn the Tables by my opponent, does it take 1 or 2 damage? And is that damage combat damage or can Mark of Asylum prevent it?

Boza says... #1

  1. Combat damage is dealt at the same time (beginning of damage step), so there will 1 instance of 6 damage directed at one of the dinos. The other dino will modify that to 1 damage.

  2. Turn the Tables simply redirects the combat damage, it does not deal any damage itself, so the damage is still combat damage and Mark of Asylum will not be able to prevent it, but Fog will.

June 21, 2018 8:37 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #2

Redirection effects don't change the source of the damage. It is true that all combat damage is dealt simultaniously, but much like if Temple Altisaur were double blocked there are 2 sources dealing damage to it and each source is reduced to 1 for a total of 2.

June 22, 2018 9:30 a.m.

Emzed says... #3

So, who is right? Can either of you back up your answer with actual rules?

June 22, 2018 12:37 p.m.

Caerwyn says... #4

Here is a reduced version of Rule 614.9, showing only the relevant information:

Some effects replace damage dealt to one creature, planeswalker, or player with the same damage dealt to another creature, planeswalker, or player; such effects are called redirection effects.

The operative term here is "same damage." As Gidgetimer said, the source of the damage remains the same--merely who receives it changes.

June 22, 2018 12:58 p.m.

Please login to comment