How do these interact?

Asked by MrBunbury 6 years ago

If I have a Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and a Crypt Ghast out do my Swamp lands tap for two mana since my swamps are swamp swamps?

Also, does Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth make Mutilate twice as effective per swamp?

And how about Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth + Swamp + Liliana of the Dark Realms . Is her -3 twice as effective?

Epochalyptik says... #1

No. Types and subtypes don't "stack." "Swamp Swamp" is not a thing. Swamps that were Swamps even before Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth entered the battlefield will still only have that subtype once, and will still only count once for effects that count Swamps.

August 13, 2014 5:24 p.m.

MrBunbury says... #2

I guess my confusion is in the wording of Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth because of the "in addition to its other land types''. Anyone have a link to the rules? I've searched everywhere but can't find a ruling on it.

August 13, 2014 5:44 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

"In addition to its other land types."
Swamp and Swamp are the same land type.

It's the same reason Carnifex Demon doesn't put a -1/-1 counter on itself.

August 13, 2014 5:51 p.m.

MrBunbury says... #4

Ha, words... perhaps I should go back and learn how to read them. Thanks.

August 13, 2014 5:54 p.m.

Drilnoth says... #5

Such as the "accept answer" button or whatever it is labeled? :P

Nah, I'm just messing with you. But you should click one of those once your question is answered. :)

August 13, 2014 5:56 p.m.

Drilnoth says... #6

And now it is.

I didn't realize you had just now posted that.

My bad.

August 13, 2014 5:56 p.m.

A swamp that is also a swamp is in fact a swamp,

August 13, 2014 9:25 p.m.

9Breaker says... #8

I know this is an old post but if you had a Mountain or other land type such as non-basic lands would it still double?

February 13, 2015 11:58 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #9

Please ask followup questions to old posts in new threads. It's not that your comment is unrelated, it's that the Q&A is laid out so that threads are only displayed by creation date, not by recent post. You aren't guaranteed to get an answer if you post in an old Q&A thread.

Yes. Crypt Ghast's ability applies regardless of what other types or subtypes the land has. As long as the land is a Swamp, you get an additional from it.

February 13, 2015 12:30 p.m.

9Breaker says... #10

sorry about that new to forums, but thanks

February 13, 2015 9:59 p.m.

This discussion has been closed