How do Extractions work?

Asked by DaShPrime 11 years ago

Supposing I cast Surgical Extraction targetting my opponent's Vengevine in the graveyard and he responds with Noxious Revival , do I still get to search his hand, library and graveyard for the other Vengevine s and exile them?

MrKnify says... #1

It would follow stack rules, last in first out.

Vengevine would be put onto his battlefield and Noxious Revival would fizzle no longer having a target.

similar to if you Lightning Blast a Balduvian Bears and your opponent casts Unsummon in responce.

October 26, 2013 11:50 a.m.

MagnorCriol says... Accepted answer #2

In this case, no. Surgical Extraction has one target - the card in the graveyard - and it just got removed with Noxious Revival . When the Extraction goes to resolve, its target won't be there anymore and it'll be countered by the game due to illegal targets.

October 26, 2013 11:51 a.m.

MrKnify says... #3

Counterspell is a counter. not having a target is a way to counter, but is not a counter.

October 26, 2013 11:55 a.m.

MagnorCriol says... #4

MrKnify - There's nothing going on here that would put Vengevine on the battlefield. The Noxious Revival is also the last card played and, as such, would resolve first; the Extraction is the one that will "fizzle", or be countered by the game's state-based actions, rather than by the player.

October 26, 2013 11:58 a.m.

MagnorCriol says... #5

It's also worth noting, in a more general sense, that this is just due to the fact that Surgical Extraction targets a specific card. Some Extraction effects, like Cranial Extraction , target a player instead, and have you just name a card. If you were casting a Cranial Extraction you would still be able to do it, because its target isn't the single card that just got removed.

October 26, 2013 12:02 p.m.

This discussion has been closed