Grafdigger's Cage - Rulings

Asked by TehGrief 2 years ago

The first part of Grafdigger's Cage is fairly comprehensive as it is worded "Creature cards can't enter the battlefield from graveyards or libraries.".

However, the second part is where the comprehension falls apart for me, it is worded as; "Players can't cast spells from graveyards or libraries.".

What I understand about the Keyword "Cast" is that you pay the mana cost (and any additional costs) and put the spell onto the stack. So Grafdigger's Cage would prevent "Flashback" style abilities.

Does Grafdigger's Cage prevent cards that are worded as "Put" or "Return"? For example Faith's Reward or Rise of the Dark Realms .

Epochalyptik says... #2

As you went over, the first ability prevents creature cards from entering the battlefield from the graveyard (and library). Effects that would attempt to move a creature card from the yard to the field will fail to do so.

August 11, 2017 12:53 p.m.

TehGrief says... #3

@ Epochalyptik,

I more-so used Rise of the Dark Realms as an example for the keyword "Put".

In the case of Faith's Reward or Second Sunrise; would Grafdigger's Cage stop Artifacts and Enchantments from being "Returned" to the battlefield?

August 11, 2017 1:01 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #4

No.

Casting is a very specific process, as you described. Putting a card into a zone is not the same as casting it, so Cage's second ability doesn't apply to effects that put cards onto the battlefield.

The first ability affects only creature cards, so it also doesn't apply in that case.

August 11, 2017 1:05 p.m.

Senior_Muerto says... #5

So cards like Collected Company and Chords of Calling. My opponent would still be able to put creatures, from their library, into play because they're not "casting" the creatures?

September 27, 2017 1:14 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

No. Grafdigger's Cage has two abilities. The first one prevents creature cards in a graveyard or library from entering the battlefield. Chord of Calling and similar cards would attempt to put a creature card from a library onto the battlefield, so GC's first ability effectively shuts them down.

September 27, 2017 1:23 p.m.

Please login to comment