Gideon Jura

Asked by Glaspo 13 years ago

Can some please explain to me how Gideon Jura works..AND.. more importantly, what the benefits are of using his +2 ability.

greenj12356 says... #1

The benifit is that he then has 8 counters on him, and your opponents creatures are forced to attack him. So you don't have to worry about taking damage from those creatures this turn. And if they have a small creature out, you could easily block it and thus kill it. It just forces your opponent to do something they probably weren't planning to do.

October 12, 2011 8:13 a.m.

it makes an opening for you to attack on your next turn and gives you an opportunity to kill creatures that he would rather keep if he doesnt stop them from attacking

October 12, 2011 8:20 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

Gideon Jura 's +2 ability causes all creatures target opponent controls which are able to attack him on that player's next turn to do so.

His -2 is essentially a walker-borne version of Assassinate , and is usually used to get rid of majors threats on your opponent's board.

His 0 ability causes him to become a 6/6 Human Soldier creature, and prevents combat damage that would be dealt to him. These two effect last until the end of the turn, so you are able to swing with him for some extra damage.

The benefits of his +2 are much more strategic than simply causing everything to attack him. It forces your opponent to swing with any creature that is able to. This means they will interrupt their board state to save important utility creatures from attacking, or attack with everything they have. This allows you to block and kill off key creatures if you're able to, or just survive another turn without taking combat damage (usually).

October 12, 2011 10:39 a.m.

rckclimber777 says... #4

Gideon's +2 forces all creatures your opponent controls to attack him rather than you or any other planeswalker you may control during their next combat phase .

His 0 ability is self-explanatory as is -2 ability.

Gideon's +2 is incredibly versatile and is one of the best forms of control.

First as said above it forces your opponent to swing with creatures that they wouldn't normally. This makes it so that you can simply block them with a powerful creature and they die thus helping you a bit more. For instance, if an opponent had Grand Abolisher or Phyrexian Revoker , they likely won't be swinging with them and keep you hindered. Gideon requires them attack and thus you have an opportunity to block them with a bigger creature.

Also if you are out of creatures, he gives you another turn to come up with something. This happens often in my Planeswalker Contagion deck where I don't use a lot of creatures and Gideon protects me from their creatures.

Since the creatures are attacking then they have to tap and thus they play into Gideon's -2 ability.

Another use of course is that all creatures are attacking Gideon. If you choose not to block, then all of them attack Gideon and tap, leaving your opponent pretty wide open in most cases giving you an easy path into the opponent unhindered.

These are just some of the uses. Being able to control your opponent's actions is a huge advantage.

October 12, 2011 10:40 a.m.

π_is_the_word says... #5

Another point about Gideon's Plus 2 ability, if a creature were to be placed onto the battlefield already attacking like the effect of Hero of Bladehold or Geist of Saint Traft that creature is not forced to attack Gideon like all other creatures. You can choose what these creatures enter the battlefield attacking, meaning Gideon or your opponent or any other planeswalker on the battlefield under an opponents control.

October 12, 2011 3:12 p.m.

uxuuxu says... #6

@ _is_the_word actually according to the ruling creatures that enter the battlefield after Gideon's +2 resolves are forced to attack him. look at the first ruling here ----> http://magiccards.info/m12/en/16.html

October 13, 2011 8:22 p.m.

rckclimber777 says... #7

actually uxuuxu this was discussed the other day. And pi is correct. You have to actually declare them as attackers in order for them to attack Gideon. Since they enter the field attacking you can choose who they attack.

October 13, 2011 8:30 p.m.

π_is_the_word says... #8

Yep, I play Tempered Steel and I have had the situation arise where I'm attacking Gideon and having to decided whether the Tokens put into play attacking by Hero of Bladehold will finish Gideon off or keep the beats on my opponent going.

October 13, 2011 11:20 p.m.

KorApprentice says... #9

uxuuxu, the link you gave provides proof that you can choose to have tokens generated by effects that trigger during your declare attackers phase attack any legal target. The first ruling reads:

6/15/2010: Gideon Jura's first ability doesn't lock in what it applies to. That's because the effect states a true thing about a set of creatures, but doesn't actually change the characteristics of those creatures. As a result, whatever creatures the targeted opponent controls during the declare attackers step of his or her next turn must attack Gideon Jura if able. This includes creatures that come under that player's control after the ability has resolved and creatures that have lost all abilities.

It specifically states "whatever creatures the targeted opponent controls during the declare attackers step of his or her next turn", meaning that creatures generated after your declare attackers step are not forced to attack Gideon Jura , which includes cards like Hero of Bladehold and Geist of Saint Traft .

October 14, 2011 4:05 a.m.

bouth put there tokens into play at the same time they are declared as attackers

October 15, 2011 7:04 a.m.

The triggered ability which creates the tokens goes onto the stack as a result of the creature being declared as an attacker. It resolves after the attacking player has finished declaring attackers, and therefore the tokens are created after the Declare Attackers step. They are not subject to the attack restriction created by Gideon Jura .

October 15, 2011 8:24 a.m.

KorApprentice says... #12

@xxxxxxCronoxxxxxx, Epochalyptik is correct, they do not happen at the same time because of the stack and the order it resolves. Nothing in MTG happens at the exact same time as something else, they must always go through the stack.

October 15, 2011 2:22 p.m.

This discussion has been closed