Can Zedruu the Greathearted *f-etch* prevent the Sacrifice from Sneak Attack

Asked by agGravity 12 years ago

When someone gives away a creature dropped by Sneak Attack will my opponent still have to sac the creature?

I'm not 100% sure but I think yes. Just need confirmation.

2nd question: based on the ruling

800.4a When a player leaves the game, all objects (see rule 109) owned by that player leave the game, any effects which give that player control of any objects or players end, and all spells and abilities controlled by that player on the stack cease to exist. Then, if there are any objects still controlled by that player, those objects are exiled. This is not a state-based action. It happens as soon as the player leaves the game. If the player who left the game had priority at the time he or she left, priority passes to the next player in turn order whos still in the game.

What kind of control effect are included in that ruling?

Rhadamanthus says... #1

I really don't know what that rule has to do with your Sneak Attack question, but the creature doesn't get sacrificed. When Sneak Attack's delayed trigger happens, it tells the player who activated the ability to sacrifice it. You can only sacrifice things you control, so if the creature is controlled by another player at that time it can't be sacrificed.

January 22, 2013 10:01 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Question 1: Sneak Attack is the source of the delayed triggered ability. Therefore, you control the ability that would cause the creature to be sacrificed. If you don't also control the creature, you can't sacrifice it.

Question 2: All control effects. If a player leaves the game, he or she takes with him or her all cards he or she owns, including cards under the control of other players. He or she also returns all cards he or she controls that are owned by other players.

January 22, 2013 10:04 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

Sorry, I didn't catch the "2nd question" part.

The control effects that end are everything that makes a player "gain control" of something. It doesn't end effects like Bribery or Ashen Powder that made something enter the battlefield under that player's control. Those things will get exiled in the next step of the process ("Then, if there are any objects still controlled by that player, those objects are exiled").

January 22, 2013 10:09 p.m.

agGravity says... #4

If I'm not mistaken: So stuff like Control Magic will end and will allow the owning player to gain back control of his creature. And using Zedruu the Greathearted ability or Gilded Drake trigger won't end and will exile the card that is controlled by the leaving player.

January 22, 2013 10:17 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

Well, stuff like Control Magic will end because the Control Magic will leave the game when the player does. Zedruu will end because her ability created an effect that made the player gain control, and likewise for Gilded Drake.

January 22, 2013 10:20 p.m.

GoblinsInc says... #6

Zedruu and the Drake's abilities will end, and not result in the object being exiled. This is because they don't place an object into play under X player's control, they change who currently controls an object (exchanging control of the drake for another creature. Giving your opponent control of your own object with Zedruu). As Rhad said, things like bribery are things that will cause the object they place on the field to be exiled, as there is no change of control effect.

January 22, 2013 10:22 p.m.

This discussion has been closed