Can you cast an artifact creature with a casting cost of x for 0 mana. like chamber sentry or walking balista if tempered steel is in play?

Asked by angelus0509825 6 years ago

i want to create a deck with tempered steel where most of my creatures have 0 casting costs

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

Please link your cards using double brackets--it makes it a bit easier to see what cards you're discussing:

[[chamber sentry]]

[[Walking Ballista]]

[[Tempered Steel]]

Chamber Sentry

Walking Ballista

Tempered Steel


As a general rule, when a spell or ability asks you to pay , and you get to decide what is, you can choose to pay 0.

Exceptions, such as Aeon Chronicler's suspend ability, will be specifically stated on the card.

Here, you will be able to cast both Chamber Sentry and Walking Ballista for . If you cast them for and do not have Tempered Steel in play, they will die as a result of having 0 toughness.

It's important to note, Tempered Steel does not give either +1/+1 counters; it's a static ability increasing power and toughness. As such, both Walking Ballista and Chamber Sentry will be 2/2s without any counters with which you could activate their abilities.

November 21, 2018 9:57 a.m.

Boza says... #2

First of all, remember to link all your cards, so that it is easier for everyone else viewing the question.

Chamber Sentry, Walking Ballista, Tempered Steel

Yes, you can. When you cast an X spell, tone of the first things you do is announce the value of X. Say you want to cast Chamber Sentry with X=0. Then, you calculate the cost of the spell as a normal spell, taking into account the value you just declared. Thus it will be like this:

Cost of the spell (X=0) + cost additions (0) - cost reductions (0) = total cost to pay (0)

You pay 0 mana and get a 0/0 Chamber Sentry as a result. However, while on the battlefield, it will be affected by Tempered Steel and will be a 2/2 chamber sentry.

Now, it won't have any counters, since you set X to 0 when you cast the spell, so you won't be able to use its ability, but it will be a 2/2 for 0 mana.

November 21, 2018 10:05 a.m.

Please login to comment