Can i equip to a card that has shroud?

Asked by WorkAround 14 years ago

Can I equip to a card that has Shroud?

oulani says... #1

Equip targets so no, you will be unable to equip a card that has shroud.

April 7, 2011 2:47 p.m.

Leardawg says... #2

oulani is 100% correct. When you attempt to equip a piece of equipment it has to target something and shroud states that the affected creature can not be the target of spells or abilities, therefore, the creature can not have equipment attached.

April 7, 2011 3:56 p.m.

BrightGreenLine says... Accepted answer #3

Normally, you can't equip anything to a shrouded creature. The Equip ability targets, however it is possible to get Equipment (and Auras) onto Shrouded creatures, even if they have shroud prior to attaching them.

The easiest way to do this right now is with Quest for the Holy Relic . Holy Relic says to put an equipment onto the battlefield and then attach it to a creature you control, but nowhere does it use the word 'target' which would immediately disqualify the action.

For auras, it's fairly straightforward. When they're placed onto the battlefield by any means other than casting, such as returning via Oblivion Ring , you can attach them to whatever you want. The trick here, is that an aura cast as a spell requires a target; it's an illegal spell if you don't specify a valid target. However, when it enters the battlefield it has to be attached to something, and if it doesn't have a target then you're allowed to choose (not target) what you want to attach it to. Shroud only prevents the shrouded permanent from being targeted, it doesn't prevent permanents from being acted upon by any source, whether it's single or multiple-target.

April 7, 2011 5:09 p.m.

Carn13 says... #4

Also, no Auras can be attached to a creature with shroud. :(

April 7, 2011 5:56 p.m.

mafteechr says... #5

Piston Sledge can attach itself to creatures with shroud when it enters the battlefield.

April 7, 2011 6:28 p.m.

Auras cannot be cast targeting a permanent with shroud, just like equipment cannot be equipped targeting a creature with shroud. Both of them can be attached to shrouded creatures through other means, such as when auras enter the battlefield through a means other than casting, or when an effect says to attach them to a permanent. Neither equipment nor auras will become detached if the object they are attached to gains shroud, as they aren't targeting the permanent they're attached to.

Shroud doesn't say anything about auras and equipments for good reason: It only prevents the act of targeting. Equipments put onto the battlefield by Quest for the Holy Relic are attached to a chosen creature, which is functionally very similar to targeting but isn't actually targeting at all. Auras put onto the battlefield that don't have a target can be attached to any permanent their controller wishes. This would happen to auras returning from Oblivion Ring as well as ones placed on the battlefield by Warp World. Here's the relevant rules:

303.4f. If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a player's control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesn't specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Aura's enchant ability and any other applicable effects.

April 7, 2011 6:31 p.m.

Actually, Piston Sledge would be able to if it didn't say 'attach to target creature you control'. Since it specifies targets, and shroud prevents targeting, you couldn't attach Piston Sledge to a shrouded creature either. The only uniqueness to this example is that Piston Sledge, the spell, doesn't target. The triggered ability does target though, and shroud still stops abilities from targeting as well as spells.

April 7, 2011 6:33 p.m.

mafteechr says... #8

Wow. I can't believe I straight up overlooked the word "target" plainly written on there.

April 7, 2011 6:49 p.m.

Goblin_lord says... #9

Stonehewer Giant can equip stuff on a creature with shroud.

April 8, 2011 7:04 p.m.

park_li says... #10

let say u have Skullclamp andWhispersilk Cloak it is a good idea to equip it first with skullclamp, and then, whispersilk cloak.. it is because the skullclamp resolve first....

April 12, 2011 12:11 a.m.

This discussion has been closed