Blinking in response to board sweeps

Asked by vila_a23 13 years ago

If i have a creature that I don't want killed, say an Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite , and my opponent casts day-of-judgement or card:Black Sun's Zenith, could I cast Restoration Angel targeting Elesh Norn and save it from being killed? Also, what happens to the angel?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

If you respond with Restoration Angel and she resolves, she'll enter the battlefield, and her ability will go on the stack on top of the sweeper. That means her ability will resolve before the sweeper, meaning both her and the creature she blinked will be on the battlefield when it comes time for the sweeper to resolve. This isn't a good idea.

June 1, 2012 11:39 a.m.

vila_a23 says... #2

Ok that makes sense. Then how can you counter a spell that targets, say Vapor Snag , with Restoration Angel . Once vapor snag resolves the creature that was originally targeted is still on the field.

June 1, 2012 11:49 a.m.

JamesKrell says... #3

It's not technically the same creature. Since it was exiled and returned to the creature, it is considered a different creature. That's why, if someone Doom Blade s Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite and you Cloudshift him, then the doom blade no longer has a target, because the Elesh Norn that it was targeting is gone.

June 1, 2012 12:02 p.m.

If a creature leaves the battlefield for any reason and then comes back, it's treated as a different permanent, even if it's the same piece of cardboard. Because the targets of spells are chosen as the spell is cast, it is possible for that target to have gone away by the time the spell resolves, making the spell fizzle.

A board wipe doesn't target, so unless it is countered by something like Mana Leak , it's going to kill the field.

June 1, 2012 2:46 p.m.

This discussion has been closed