Blightsteel Colossus vs Acidic Slime

Asked by ChadW 14 years ago

Ok scenario:

My opponent has out Acidic Slime and casts Eldrazi Conscription on it. I have Blightsteel Colossus and two Grand Architect s out. So i block with Blightsteel and turn him blue so he is now 13/13 and Slime is 12/12. i have 10 life left. combat damage resolves and MTGO sends Slime to the graveyard and assigns 11 damage to me and only one to blightsteel. Is that right or is it a bug in the system? I don't really know where to look....

TimProctor says... Accepted answer #1

Well that is funny. It is because Trample deals lethal damage to the creature and then the rest to the player, with Deathtouch 1 is considered lethal.

Because 1 is considered lethal regardless of whether or not the Colossus is indestructible the remainder would trample over.

See Comp rules below.

Only way out I see is block with both the Architects too.

Trample - 702.17b ... Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking.

When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already marked on the creature and damage from other creatures thats being assigned during the same combat damage step, but not any abilities or effects that might change the amount of damage thats actually dealt.

Deathtouch -

702.2b Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage, regardless of that creatures toughness

March 17, 2011 10:28 a.m.

Tezz says... #2

That was clearly a bug by the system

First of all I'll be assuming you sacrificed two permanents out from the 3 you mentioned having. The Blightsteel Colossus is indestructible and with two Grand Architect s powering him to 13/13, them the Acidic Slime would die out against the Colossus, and with even less attack than your big boy there's absolutely no way you'd get any damage. In the worst case scenario you'd have to sacrifice the Architects to the annihilator and take only one damage, leaving the opponent with a 1/1 Eldrazi Slime.

March 17, 2011 10:28 a.m.

TimProctor says... #3

@Tezz, I disagree.

Indestructible doesn't change what lethal damage it, is simply keeps the object from being destroyed.

700.4. If a permanent is indestructible, rules and effects cant destroy it. (See rule 701.6, Destroy.) Such permanents are not destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the lethal-damage state-based action (see rule 704.5g). Rules or effects may cause an indestructible permanent to be sacrificed, put into a graveyard, or exiled.

704.5h If a creature has toughness greater than 0, and its been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked, that creature is destroyed. Regeneration can replace this event.

March 17, 2011 10:35 a.m.

Tezz says... #4

Disregard my last post. With the M11 changes Deathtouch just needs 1 damage to each blocker even if the blocker ignores lethal damage, wich is slightly ridiculous with Trample.

hum this just gave me an few ideas for little Glissa...

March 17, 2011 10:39 a.m.

ChadW says... #5

yeah tezz exactly what i was thinking, or giving blightsteel deathtouch... ;o)

March 17, 2011 12:26 p.m.

Tezz says... #6

11/11 indestructible, trample, infect, deathtouch!?! That's overkill man.

A little more power and it would make you his creature.

March 17, 2011 1:53 p.m.

supernick says... #7

first strike... "oh your blocker takes one and dies and i let 10 infect roll over you"

March 17, 2011 7:22 p.m.

Kalani says... #8

y'know supernick, i think that's actually pretty much what they're saying the ruling is with only deathtouch and trample on the the slime. You don't even have to have first strike, you can roll damage over after assigning only 1 to each blocker anyway. THe advantage of having first strike, of course, is that the opponent's creatures were dealt lethal damage and destroyed before doing any damage themselves, it would be pointless to block at all. So basically what we've learned is that first strike, deathtouch, and trample ≤ unblockable... So i guess... Distortion Strike owns. And we all know Creeping Tar Pit is the MAN! ...land. Just imagine if creeping tar pit read: "1BU: Creeping tar pit becomes a 3/2 blue and black elemental creature with trample, firststrike, and deathtouch. It is still a land" i feel like it would get a lot more attention.

March 18, 2011 2:58 a.m.

This discussion has been closed