Vraska, the Unseen +1 Help
General forum
Posted on March 15, 2014, 10:34 a.m. by aaronmaxey
Just a quick rules question...I have a Vraska the Unseen that I have used the +1 ability on my turn. My opponent on his turn has attacked Vraska the Unseen with a Blood Baron of Vizkopa and a Soldier of the Pantheon . Do his creatures die or do they stay alive due to their respective protection clauses?
KrosanTusker says... #3
Rules questions should be asked in the Q&A.
In answer to your question, they both are destroyed. Protection from a colour means that the creature can't be targeted, dealt damage or blocked by anything of that colour (or multicoloured, in the case of Soldier of the Pantheon ). Vraska's ability does not target or deal damage, so the creatures would be destroyed.
March 15, 2014 10:39 a.m.
I believe they die. Vraska's +1 doesn't deal damage or target Blood Baron or Soldier of the Pantheon, so their pro black/pro multicolor don't protect them from dying.
March 15, 2014 10:39 a.m.
aaronmaxey says... #5
Sorry about putting it in the wrong Section...I have never used a forum post...Thanks for the Answer!
March 15, 2014 10:40 a.m.
Had a similar situation last night involving Stormbreath Dragon who has Pro-White and Elspeth, Sun's Champion . In order to wipeout the Stormies, I used Elspeth's -3 to destroy all creatures power 4 or greater. Because it does not specifically target the Stormy, it will wipe it.
Now if she (Elspeth) did damage to it instead of destroying the Stormbreath outright, that damage would be reduced to zero instead.
I hope that helps some.
ljs54321 says... #2
Since the destroy effect of Vraska's +1 ability doesn't target or deal damage, the protection doesn't save them from being destroyed. Similar to how BBoV would still die to Wrath of God or Damnation
March 15, 2014 10:38 a.m.