Bonfire of the Damned and Mental Misstep
General forum
Posted on Aug. 13, 2012, 2:17 p.m. by jfletch
So I know that X spells have converted mana cost equal to their non-X mana cost while in the hand, deck, grave, etc. (For example, I can Appetite for Brains you and take your Genesis Wave , even though you're gonna be spending way more than 4 mana on that guy.) But is that the case when they're on the stack? (My basic question is, can I Mental Misstep your Bonfire of the Damned ?)
Thanks!
hateonbonfire
Epochalyptik says... #3
Also, you can't exile Genesis Wave with Appetite for Brains . You have to exile a card with CMC 4 or more, Genesis Wave has a CMC of 3 while not on the stack.
August 13, 2012 2:27 p.m.
MindAblaze says... #4
You could Inquisition of Kozilek their Genesis Wave though
August 13, 2012 2:59 p.m.
TheOne4221 says... #5
Could also Duress that Genesis Wave and stay standard.
August 13, 2012 3:02 p.m.
MindAblaze says... #6
I love Duress ...the art, the flavor text, the card concept and function. Yay for reprints
August 13, 2012 3:26 p.m.
Yeah, I think I meant Inquisition there. Thanks for all the helpfuls.
August 13, 2012 4:38 p.m.
I can't find the specific ruling, but a quick google search suggests that if you miracle Bonfire of the Damned , it's converted mana cost is the same as though you cast it regularly for the same amount.
August 14, 2012 5:53 p.m.
Rule 107.3G states "All instances of X on an object have the same value at any given time."
Rule 202.3B states "When calculating the converted mana cost of an object with an X in its mana cost, X is treated as 0 while the object is not on the stack, and X is treated as the number chosen for it while the object is on the stack."
These are taken from the comp rules pdf on wizards of the coast website, this makes it literally impossible to mental misstep a bonfire of the damned that was cast for a value more than 0, miracle or not.
To be honest i don't like it either, but the rules are the rules.
Epochalyptik says... #2
When Bonfire of the Damned (or any other X spell) is on the stack, X actually has a value. That value is used to determine the momentary CMC of that card; X is only 0 when the spell is not on the stack or when 0 is the chosen value for X.
If you could do this, you'd be seeing a lot of Mental Misstep s in the sideboards of major decks.
August 13, 2012 2:26 p.m.