Duplicates in Commander?
Commander Deck Help forum
Posted on Sept. 23, 2016, 9:20 p.m. by Kabious
Hello all, I'm fairly new to the Commander format, and was wondering if I could use Karn the Liberated as well as Karn, Silver Golem within my Commander deck, or would that be considered an illegal standard?
PhotogenicParasympathetic says... #3
In fact, you can have them both on the battlefield at the same time as well, since one is a planeswalker and the other is a creature. You could also have an Ojutai, Soul of Winter and a Dragonlord Ojutai, since although they depict the same character, the cards have different names. The only thing in commander you cannot do, is have two cards named Karn, Silver Golem in your deck.
September 23, 2016 10:13 p.m.
Raging_Squiggle says... #4
Karn Liberated. You linked someone's deck.
As others stated, the rules only care if the cards have the same English name. Since they don't, you're not breaking any rules.
Also as stated, not only can you have them in the deck but you can have them on the battlefield simultaneously. This is because simply they are not identical cards. One is a creature and one is a planeswalker.
September 23, 2016 10:26 p.m.
As everyone has said above, you can only have one of each uniquely named nonbasic land cards. The only exception to this rule are cards that state a Relentless Rats and Shadowborn Apostle.
September 23, 2016 11:05 p.m.
For future reference, this type of question goes in the Q&A section.
September 24, 2016 3:42 a.m.
Thank you everyone that answered. I'll remember to put this in the Q&A section should I have any more questions going forward.
Coinman1863 says... #2
Yes because it checks the english name, not if the physical character is the same in the lore.
September 23, 2016 9:26 p.m.