Combos Browse all Suggest
Legality
| Format | Legality |
| 1v1 Commander | Legal |
| Archenemy | Legal |
| Block Constructed | Legal |
| Canadian Highlander | Legal |
| Casual | Legal |
| Commander / EDH | Legal |
| Commander: Rule 0 | Legal |
| Custom | Legal |
| Duel Commander | Legal |
| Freeform | Legal |
| Highlander | Legal |
| Legacy | Legal |
| Leviathan | Legal |
| Limited | Legal |
| Modern | Legal |
| Modern Beyond Horizons | Legal |
| Oathbreaker | Legal |
| Planar Constructed | Legal |
| Planechase | Legal |
| PreDH | Legal |
| Quest Magic | Legal |
| Vanguard | Legal |
| Vintage | Legal |
Swirling Spriggan
Creature — Goblin Shaman
(G/U)(G/U): Target creature you control becomes the color or colors of your choice until end of turn.
Neotrup on Bloom Tender
7 years ago
Some points of terminology. Every card and permanent has a converted mana cost or CMC, which is just a number (kind of an absolute value of sorts). It's calculated from the card's mana cost, which includes color. Not all cards have a mana cost, in which case their CMC is typically 0. Card color is typically derived from mana cost as well, unless it's a token (in which case it's defined by the effect that created it), has a color indicator (like Ancestral Vision), has a characteristic defining ability (like Ghostfire), or is otherwise having it's color altered (like with Swirling Spriggan).
Double-face cards are a big exception because while they don't have a mana cost, their CMC is defined by their front side (rather than being 0) and they usually have a color indicator (with the exception of the double-face and meld eldrazi from Eldritch Moon).
Newguy25 on Bloom Tender
7 years ago
Thank you! That makes more sense to me now. I was looking at a Swirling Spriggan + Bloom Tender combo.
sonnet666 on DFCs and Devotion
9 years ago
Just a couple nitpicky things:
The in-game term is actually "converted mana cost;" there is no such thing as a "calculated mana cost."
Converted mana costs don't use mana symbols, so the CMC of Breakneck Rider
Flip is 3, not
. (For reference: Austere Command) It still won't add to devotion, but w/e.
Also the.beanpole, a permanent most certainly can add to devotion of a color that it isn't. For example, Swirling Spriggan doesn't stop having two green mana in its mana cost even if you use its own ability to turn it red.