Zegana and multiple simultaneous ETB's

Asked by Yananas 4 years ago

Let's say I have Champion of Stray Souls and 2 Satyr Wayfinder on the field, and 17 creatures in the grave. I use the Champion's effect to sack my two Satyrs, and reanimate Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord and Prime Speaker Zegana . As they enter simultaneously, does Zegana enter the field as a 20/20 (due to Jarad being the strongest on the field as a 19/19) or as a 5/5 (because Champion was the only guy actually on the field just before they both hit)?

Matsi883 says... #1

Creatures see each other entering the battlefield, just as they do leaving. Therefore, Zegana would be a 20/20.

July 20, 2014 3:47 p.m.

Yananas says... #2

Thank you very much!

July 20, 2014 3:52 p.m.

BboyGeologic says... Accepted answer #3

Matsi883 That's incorrect.

Creatures entering the battlefield at the same time as each other do not take each other into account. Prime Speaker's first effect is a replacement effect that alters how it enters the battlefield, it's not a triggered ability, so it can only take into account creatures that are already on the battlefield as it enters.

When it comes to creatures leaving the battlefield, that has to do with triggered abilities, and when something has a leaves the battlefield triggered ability, like Blood Artist those abilities look back to see if those abilities would have triggered.

July 20, 2014 3:58 p.m.

BboyGeologic says... #4

Also, you should always check Gatherer for official rulings on cards and their interactions. This question is listed:

"If Prime Speaker Zegana enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature you control, you won't consider that creature when determining the greatest power among creatures you control".

July 20, 2014 4:06 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

BboyGeologic has the right answer. Zegana's ability is a replacement effect that modifies how she enters the battlefield. This means it has to be dealt with before she actually enters the battlefield, so at that time Champion of Stray Souls is the largest creature because Jarad isn't on the battlefield yet.

If this was about triggered abilities then Matsi883 would be right, but it's not.

July 20, 2014 4:43 p.m.

Matsi883 says... #6

@Yananas: Please select a different answer.

July 20, 2014 4:49 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

Answer reselected.

July 20, 2014 5:03 p.m.

Yananas says... #8

Ah, well, glad that that's cleared up. Thank you all!

July 21, 2014 9:30 a.m.

This discussion has been closed