Varolz, the Scar-Striped Scavenge Ability and / Creatures

Asked by coleman984 4 years ago

"Say I have a Splinterfright in my Graveyard and 2 other creatures thereby making the Splinterfright a 3/3 while it is in the graveyard. If I Scavenge the Splinterfright with Valorz's Scavenge ability do I put 2 or 3 counters on my target (Valorz)? This came up in a game that I played last night. My wife had 1 poison counter and 36 life, I had 1 life. I used the Scavenge to put three +1 counters onto Valorz boosting his power to 5, then I used the Scanvenge on Oona's Prowler and put another three +1 counters on Varolz, the Scar-Striped putting him to 8 power. She had 0 blocks and I had one black mana left with Tainted Strike in hand, given that she had 1 poison counter she lost due to 10 poison counters. Now did I actually win? Or did the Splinterfright only give two +1 counters?

I am not into winning through false means and want to know the answer to this in the event it ever comes up again and I don't misrule again (if I did indeed misrule in the first place)."

coleman984 says... #1

Title should have read star/star creatures

June 7, 2013 9:08 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Directly from the Oracle rulings for Varolz, the Scar-Striped :

4/15/2013: The number of counters that a cards scavenge ability puts on a creature is based on the cards power as it last existed in the graveyard.

Splinterfright was a 3/3 in the graveyard, so scavenge puts three +1/+1 counters on the targeted creature.

June 7, 2013 9:18 p.m.

bobjones36 says... #3

so how does this work with say a nightmare?

June 7, 2013 9:50 p.m.

Any creature who's power or toughness is "*" has that value defined somewhere on the card. That value is defined while that card is in ALL zones, not just in play.

If you control 6 Swamps, your Nightmare will be a 6/6, whether it is in your hand, library, graveyard, exiled zone, or battlefield.

June 7, 2013 10:20 p.m.

This discussion has been closed