Sight of the Scalelords with Scion

Asked by Pheardemons 4 years ago

If I have Sight of the Scalelords with Scion of the Ur-Dragon out on the field and enter combat phase; Scion will become 6/6 and have vigilance. If I use Scion's effect and get let's say Dragon Tyrant, does it become and 8/8 Dragon Tyrant? Or does the 2/2 become lost because Scion became a copy?

Slycne says... Accepted answer #1

It will keep the bonuses from Sight of the Scalelords. While it becomes a copy, it's still the same permanent. The best way to think about it is that the card itself underneath any auras, +1/+1 counters, static buffs, etc that is changing.

  • When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original objects characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The "copiable values" are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by as . . . enters the battlefield and "as . . . is turned face up" abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.
May 6, 2015 3:01 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

The technical answer has to do with layers, which indicate the order in which continuous effects are applied. Copy effects are applied immediately in Layer 1, while ability adding or removing effects are applied afterward in Layer 6. The copy effect can't overwrite them.

May 6, 2015 8:07 a.m.

Pheardemons says... #3

[Epochalyptic] You've answered both of my questions with the layers answer (thank you by the way and same to you [slycne]) Can you explain to me a little more in depth about the layers? This is obviously a subject I am not understanding all too well. Can you give me a link to the rules? If not how would you explain the layers?

May 6, 2015 5:28 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

May 6, 2015 5:31 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

Also, you need to use double brackets to link.

May 6, 2015 5:32 p.m.

Pheardemons says... #6

Sorry about the brackets but it wouldn't find your name. Epochalyptik. That time it worked and thanks for the link!

May 6, 2015 7:33 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

If you have no further questions, please select an answer to remove this question from the active queue.

May 6, 2015 7:35 p.m.

This discussion has been closed