Scooping in response of taking dammage

Asked by Shape_Shifter 2 years ago

Hello.

In my play group often a situation comes along where one of my opponents decide to scoop before i deal dammage. This to prevent lifegain or a win for example.

In a specific example i was in a 3 player game. I had Saskia the Unyielding + Gisela, Blade of Goldnight + Gratuitous Violence . This together with some big creature. One of my opponents was open and i chose the other opponent with Saskia's ability. I was going to deal 60 dammage to the open opponent and 60 to the other.

In response the defending opponent decided to scoop so that i couldn't deal the dammage and thus resulted in having a fully tapped out board and losing in the next turn rather than having a nice victory...

Is this possible? Is scooping 'instant speed' ? If they scoop is the dammage indeed just gone? Or does that give me the right to redirect my attack to the other opponent?

It felt a bit unfair to lose a game that i had clearly won at that point to something like this ...

hyperlocke says... Accepted answer #1

Conceding the game is possible at any time. In multiplayer games, damage assigned to the conceding player won't be dealt. This move is absolutely legal.

104.3a A player can concede the game at any time. A player who concedes leaves the game immediately. He or she loses the game.

800.4e If combat damage would be assigned to a player who has left the game, that damage isnt assigned.


That said, this is a dick move, and you should talk with your playgroup about this.

August 6, 2017 1:51 p.m.

Neotrup says... #2

Also, if you were going to deal 60 damage to that player, you would deal 240 damage to the player chosen with Saskia the Unyielding, thanks to both Gisela, Blade of Goldnight and Gratuitous Violence.

August 6, 2017 2:12 p.m.

Shape_Shifter says... #3

Hadn't even thought of that Neo! Thanks for the reminder

And thanks for the answer hyperlocke

August 6, 2017 2:13 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

A note in passing: damage is spelled with only one m.

August 6, 2017 2:18 p.m.

Please login to comment