Replenish and Shroud

Asked by iAzire 2 years ago

The question arose when playing Zur the Enchanter EDH, he was equipped with Diplomatic Immunity .

To my understanding, Auras only target when they are cast. This is what allows Zur to put Auras on permanents that have Hexproof/Shroud.

Replenish states you put the Enchantments into play, it doesn't say that you cast them.

Can you put Auras on permanents with Hexproof/Shroud using Replenish? Bonus points if you know the exact rule for Auras targeting.

GearNoir says... Accepted answer #1

Are these the rules you mean?

  • 113.1b Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura's target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, "Enchant"). The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. An Aura permanent doesn't target anything; only the spell is targeted. (An activated or triggered ability of an Aura permanent can also be targeted.)

  • 303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a players control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesnt specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Auras enchant ability and any other applicable effects.

Auras placed onto the field by effects like Replenish to my understanding don't target and can be placed on any legal target, including ones with Hexproof and Shroud; this can include permanents with protection, but the aura will fall off during checks.

January 12, 2017 4:33 p.m.

GearNoir says... #2

I forgot to say it works because the Aura isn't actually using the stack, only the Replenish-like spell is, hence it is not targeting as normally would happen when casting the aura.

January 12, 2017 4:39 p.m.

Neotrup says... #3

@GearNoir You can't use Replenish to put auras onto things with protection. Auras can only be returned enchanting things they can enchant. As the rule you quoted put it "The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Auras enchant ability and any other applicable effects." Shroud isn't an applicable effect, but protection is. This might be relevant if you wanted to return an aura just to have it go to the grave for an effect like Martyr's Bond.

January 12, 2017 4:52 p.m.

GearNoir says... #4

Ah so it doesn't just fall off as I said, it can't be placed at all? Thanks for the correction.

January 12, 2017 5:03 p.m.

iAzire says... #5

Thank you, those were the rules I was looking for. It took everyone some time looking up the rules last time. Now I know what to search for and show them.

January 12, 2017 6:58 p.m.

This discussion has been closed