GearNoir Deckling

Please login to comment

The CMC of a spell is always what is printed on the card itself. The only variable in CMC is if the card requires that you pay (when being cast out of the graveyard, you would be required to make =0). In your given situation, even though you cast Desolation for "free", its CMC is still 6.

Rule:

  • 202.3. The converted mana cost of an object is a number equal to the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color.

Gatherer on Gearhulk:

  • If the card has Variable Colorless in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
January 21, 2017 6:57 p.m.

From Gatherer:

  • Skipping the next step is cumulative. If a player turns two Brine Elementals face up on the same turn, that players opponents will each skip their next two untap steps.

And Rules:

  • 614.10a Anything scheduled for a skipped step, phase, or turn wont happen. Anything scheduled for the next occurrence of something waits for the first occurrence that isnt skipped. If two effects each cause a player to skip his or her next occurrence, that player must skip the next two; one effect will be satisfied in skipping the first occurrence, while the other will remain until another occurrence can be skipped.

So yes, "skip untap step" effects stack.

January 21, 2017 3:06 p.m.

Said on 8 Rack - ......

#3

If you're trying to stay competitive Modern, you may want to try to fit in Necrogen Mists if Veil isn't an option. I hate it for casual as I prefer to keep cards in my hand, but 8-Rack doesn't necessarily need card draw, and I t usually top decks pretty well.

I'd also go creatureless altogether. Nezumi and Visitor are tempting and certainly fit in some cases, but they'll more likely just end up as fodder for the removal your opponent is sure to be holding. Same reason I only run Waste Not in casual.

Other cards I can think of that you can upgrade to are:

  • Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth - allows a more solid mana base, especially if you have non-basics floating in your library like Dakmore and...
  • Mutavault - emergency blocker and surprise attacker when the field is empty. I use Mishra's Factory casual, but the idea is the same; it's actually won me quiet a few games.
  • Murderous Cut - good alternative to Dismember (which is a big staple of most decks) and maybe even better than Victim in the current meta dependent on your playgroup.

You can see my casual deck here if you need more ideas: 8-Smack.

January 19, 2017 11:39 p.m.

Winding Constrictor simply allows you to add an additional counter of any type you or your creatures/artifacts are receiving for each instance of placing a certain counter.

Attune with Aether with Constrictor out would give you 3 Energy counters all together.

Paying the six energy to give Bristling Hydra two +1/+1 counters is seen as a single instance of giving Hydra counters, so you would be placing 3 +1/+1 counters total.

January 16, 2017 9:58 p.m.

Essentially SBA checks are happening all the time throughout the game as priorities pass and triggers are placed on the stack, etc. SBAs themselves do not use the stack. As soon as a copy of Tamiyo's Journal is made, you would be required to place one of the Journals in the graveyard. In your scenario this would be after the Journal copy is created and before the Journal copy's Clue ability triggers.

Rule:

  • _704.5k If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners graveyards. This is called the legend rule.__
January 16, 2017 8:31 p.m.

Yes, Second Harvest simply copies each token for a total of 8. Name/type would only be factor if the tokens you're creating happen to be legendary tokens or have some other limiting text or rule from whatever originally created the tokens you are copying.

From Gatherer:

  • Second Harvest copies the original characteristics of each token as stated by the effect that put the token onto the battlefield. It doesnt copy whether that token is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or any Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.

  • Second Harvest copies all tokens, not only creature tokens. Notably, this includes Clue tokens.

January 16, 2017 3:49 p.m.

As I understand it, because both cards check upon cast, when priority is passed to you after an opponent casts (APNAP order), you choose the order they go on the stack (remember "Last In, First Out").

In a super competitive game, you would likely want to stack it with Pool on the bottom and Prejudice on top so they pay the extra cost first and possibly even a second time (if Pool no longer contains cards that share colors with your creatures). This will help you protect your own cards that are exiled with Pool from being cast by opponents.

January 16, 2017 1:54 p.m.

I should say that Redirect is probably not even a legal target because of cost on Burst.

January 15, 2017 6:33 p.m.

The easy answer is that a spell cannot target itself.

Rule:- 113.4. A spell or ability on the stack is an illegal target for itself.

Spell Burst would have to be redirected onto a different spell or onto Redirect itself.

January 15, 2017 6:31 p.m.

Cryptbreaker's second ability is an activated ability. The cost to activate the ability is to tap three untapped zombies. Tapping three zombies does not pay for any other activations unless the ability is a triggered ability that reads something like "whenever you tap three zombies...". This means you would have to tap three untapped zombies to activate the ability for each Cryptbreaker.

Note that having multiple Cryptbreakers is redundant in regards to the second ability. You may activate the second ability from the same Cryptbreaker as many times as you would like, as long as you have enough untapped zombies.

January 15, 2017 5:22 p.m.

Said on My Budget Mono ......

#11

Considered Guttersnipe and Goblin Grenade?

January 15, 2017 1:26 a.m.

As with most others, I never arrange my deck in a certain way prior to shuffling, not even a mama weave. I've actually had more success with draws not weaving in lands than doing so.

In a casual game I probably spend 30 seconds to a minute shuffling. Most of that is an in-hand random cut and mash, making absolutely sure I and my opponent cannot see the face sides of my cards. I also throw in a one or two 5-pile cut (not sure what the real name of the shuffle is) where I deal my cards out into 5 piles face down then pick them up the piles in a random order.

January 14, 2017 5:11 p.m.

Part of the Dash mechanic is a delayed trigger ability (the portion which states "at the beginning of the next end step") which, provided that all conditions are met, uses the stack at the required time (here that is "at the beginning of the next end step"), allowing players priority during that same end step.

As long as the additional mana cost has been paid for Rout, activating its Flash ability, you may cast it.

January 14, 2017 3:01 a.m.

I found this:

  • 800.4a When a player leaves the game, all objects (see rule 109) owned by that player leave the game and any effects which give that player control of any objects or players end. Then, if that player controlled any objects on the stack not represented by cards, those objects cease to exist. Then, if there are any objects still controlled by that player, those objects are exiled. This is not a state-based action. It happens as soon as the player leaves the game. If the player who left the game had priority at the time he or she left, priority passes to the next player in turn order whos still in the game.

And this example given as is similar to your situation:

  • Example: Alex casts Mind Control, an Aura that reads, You control enchanted creature, on Biancas Assault Griffin. If Alex leaves the game, so does Mind Control, and Assault Griffin reverts to Biancas control. If, instead, Bianca leaves the game, so does Assault Griffin, and Mind Control is put into Alexs graveyard.
January 13, 2017 12:41 a.m.

Ah so it doesn't just fall off as I said, it can't be placed at all? Thanks for the correction.

January 12, 2017 5:03 p.m.

From Gatherer:

  • If Thalias Lieutenant enters the battlefield at the same time as another Human, each of Thalias Lieutenants abilities will trigger. Youll put a +1/+1 counter on both cards.

And...

  • Creatures of the chosen type that enter the battlefield at the same time as Metallic Mimic wont enter with an additional +1/+1 counter.

  • Even though Metallic Mimic is a Shapeshifter, other Shapeshifter creatures you control wont get a +1/+1 counter unless you chose Shapeshifter as Metallic Mimic entered the battlefield. If you do, that creature must be entering the battlefield as a Shapeshifter to get a +1/+1 counter. It wont get a +1/+1 counter if it enters the battlefield as a copy of a non-Shapeshifter creature.

So it appears to be a "yes" for Thalia's and a "no" for Mimic.

January 12, 2017 4:47 p.m.

I forgot to say it works because the Aura isn't actually using the stack, only the Replenish-like spell is, hence it is not targeting as normally would happen when casting the aura.

January 12, 2017 4:39 p.m.

Are these the rules you mean?

  • 113.1b Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura's target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, "Enchant"). The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. An Aura permanent doesn't target anything; only the spell is targeted. (An activated or triggered ability of an Aura permanent can also be targeted.)

  • 303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a players control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesnt specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Auras enchant ability and any other applicable effects.

Auras placed onto the field by effects like Replenish to my understanding don't target and can be placed on any legal target, including ones with Hexproof and Shroud; this can include permanents with protection, but the aura will fall off during checks.

January 12, 2017 4:33 p.m.

And since it's casual you can use fun cards like Hymn to Tourach.

January 12, 2017 4:04 p.m.

You can build a pretty budget 8-rack for less than $40. It's not something I'd play all the time, but it's definitely control category.

January 12, 2017 4:03 p.m.

Followers

FierceTierce

Decks

8-Smack

Casual GearNoir

SCORE: 1 | 13 COMMENTS | 581 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

This Is Me Not Touching You

Casual GearNoir

SCORE: 4 | 2 COMMENTS | 485 VIEWS

Finished Decks 2
Prototype Decks 0
Drafts 0
Avg. deck rating 3.00
T/O Rank 40
Helper Rank 286
Favorite formats Pre-release, Commander / EDH, Casual
Good Card Suggestions 107
Venues Adventures in comics and games
Last activity 20 hours
Joined 1 year