Red mill?

Asked by srk 3 years ago

If I target a Zada, Hedron Grinder or Mirrorwing Dragon with Collective Defiance , would the following do what I think? Pay the escalate cost to 1) deal 4 damage to target creature, and 2) target player discards hand and draws that many cards. The result being, you get as many discard/draw triggers as you have copies of the two effects on the stack for your opponent?

iLegendGames says... Accepted answer #1

I dont think that is how it works. Im no judge, but the card says "Whenever you cast and instant or sorcery spell that targets ONLY Zada, Hedron Grinder, copy that spell...."

Since Collective Defiance would target both Zada and your opponent, it would not be copied. The same would be true for Mirrorwing dragon.

July 21, 2016 3:52 a.m.

Boza says... #2

iLegendGames is correct on that one. If you choose any more than the mode that deals 4 damage to a creature on Collective Defiance, it will not trigger the effects of Mirrorwing Dragon or Zada, Hedron Grinder.

July 21, 2016 3:56 a.m.

srk says... #3

That makes sense,I'm not sure why my head was a 1am local lol good thing I asked before trying to pull it in a game :P Thanks iLegendGames and Boza

July 21, 2016 2 p.m.

srk says... #4

Would it work out with the second and third modes on Savage Alliance?

July 21, 2016 3:34 p.m.

iLegendGames says... #5

srk:

I don't think so. The key words here would be "target opponent". This means that the spell has multiple targets, and would not be copied with zada or the dragon.

July 21, 2016 3:53 p.m.

srk says... #6

I apologize for wasting your time with the second question, my dyslexia kicks in and I skip words randomly, LIKE TARGET sigh

July 21, 2016 4 p.m.

iLegendGames says... #7

No worries! Im not doing anything anyway. Sometimes it does take a couple of reads to properly catch all of the wording on cards anyways. So often I have made mistakes in games because I just assumed the functions of cards. The worst one I did was misreading Eldrazi Displacer and attempting to flicker itself in response to a removal spell. The generals rule is if something seems absolutely busted in standard, re-read it. Wizards have likely thought of it and put in some clause to prevent it from breaking standard.

July 21, 2016 4:42 p.m.

This discussion has been closed