legend rule and activated abilities

Asked by BS-T 2 years ago

Is is possible to activate an ability of a legendary artifact before it has to leave the Battlefield due to the legend rule?

Eg: can I create a copy of Tatsumasa, the Dragon's Fang and immediately turn it into a creature while retaining the original?

Addendum: if not, does it make any difference that it requires mana, if it just read '0' or 'tap' would it be possible? I guess that is a sub-question that answers itself actually; an activated ability is an activated ability no matter what it is that activates it.

hyperlocke says... Accepted answer #1

The Legend Rule causes one of your two legendary permanents to be put into your graveyard as a State Based Action. SBAs are checked everytime a player would get priority.

So you create a copy of Tatsumasa, the Dragon's Fang (let's say Phyrexian Metamorph just resolved). The game wants to give you priority, but before that happens, SBAs are checked. The game sees two legends with the same name and forces you to put one into your graveyard. Only then do you get priority and can do stuff.

So no, you can't activate abilities, because the permanent is already in your graveyard before you get priority again. Same goes for your addendum.


Note that this is different from triggered abilities.

If you create a copy of Bladewing the Risen, the game will see that its trigger event (etb) was met and will put the ability onto the stack the next time a player would receive priority (at the same time one of the Bladewings goes to your graveyard). In this case, you could return a dragon, but you can't activate the last ability of the Bladewing that goes to your grave.

January 14, 2017 6:03 a.m.

Neotrup says... #2

A second note on triggered abilities.

If a permanent is in the graveyard before it's triggered ability is put onto the stack (because it died to a state based action such as the legend rule), it sees itself it the graveyard. So if you play a second Bladewing the Risen it can target itself as a dragon permanent card in the graveyard and create a loop recurring itself to trigger other abilities with its entry/death.

January 14, 2017 7:39 a.m.

This discussion has been closed