If I double the damage that brings your life total down...

Asked by MCY998 4 years ago

This is a really complicated question so bear with me.

The ruling on Master of Cruelties states "For a player's life total to become 1, what actually happens is that the player loses (or in some rare cases, gains) the appropriate amount of life. For example, if the player's life total is 4 when the last ability resolves, it will cause that player to lose 3 life. Other effects that interact with life loss (or gain) will interact with this effect accordingly." So, if I have Gisela, Blade of Goldnight out and hit you with master, does your life total go down twice as much as it should and thus kill you? or does it only do half as much damage as it normally would, thus making your life total 1 after all the damage is dealt?

RicketyEng says... #1

It is true that setting the defending player's life to 1 is considered a loss (or gain) of life. However, this is not damage dealt by Master of Cruelties whose ability specifically states that it does not deal combat damage. Therefore there is no damage for Gisela to double.

November 6, 2015 10:07 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #2

Life loss isn't the same as damage even though damage to a player usually results in life loss. What Master of Cruelties means when it says "things that interact with life loss" are cards like Mindcrank or Bloodchief Ascension that specifically say life loss.

November 6, 2015 10:29 a.m.

This discussion has been closed