How do other equipment interact with Assault Suit ?

Asked by mtgirem 4 years ago

For example, let's say I have an Assault Suit and Moonsilver Spear on a creature that's forced to attack each combat like Goblin Brigand .. When an opponent gains control of the creature through Assault Suit 's second ability, who places the angel token onto the battlefield? The owner of those permanents or the controller?

Additionally, the same scenario with an Argentum Armor in place of Moonsilver Spear : which player decides which permanent to destroy?

Sorry, this question is a bit of a mouthful.

Gidgetimer says... #1

When a player gains control of a creature they do not gain control of any permanents attached to it. Both Argentum Armor and Moonsilver Spear have triggers when the equipped creature attacks. The controller of the equipment gets the Angel and picks the destroy target.

Also of note is that since the trigger on Assault Suit says "each opponent's upkeep" once you give it away you have no way of getting it back with Assault Suit, you can only transfer it between opponents.

December 12, 2014 8:27 a.m.

mtgirem says... #2

But the Assault Suit trigger specifically says "until end of turn".

December 12, 2014 8:30 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

In the first paragraph I meant to make a point about Avarice Amulet causing the creature's controller to draw the card since it grants the ability to the creature, Whereas Argentum Armor and Moonsilver Spear have the abilities themselves.

December 12, 2014 8:32 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #4

Oh my mistake, you are correct. I thought it was an indefinite control changing effect. My apologies.

December 12, 2014 8:33 a.m.

mtgirem says... #5

So when an opponent gains control of the creature through Assault Suit even if Argentum Armor and Moonsilver Spear are equipped to it they won't follow? I just want to make sure I'm understanding this correctly.

December 12, 2014 8:36 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #6

Once an equipment (or aura) is attached to a creature it remains attached until something unattaches it. It will follow the creature and remain having its effects if someone else takes control of the creature. The player who controls the creature however does not control the equipments or auras. This means that they do not get to activate any abilities of the equipment (such as Cranial Plating's ability) do not control any triggers from the equipment (such as Moonsilver Spear's trigger).

If you had Goblin Brigand equipped with all 3 equipments in question in a 4 player game you could:

  • Give it to each opponent on their upkeep (you control that trigger but that was never part of the question)

  • The 10/10 first striking Brigand must attack, but can not attack you.

  • Attacking triggers both the Spear and Argentum Armor which you still control. This means you control their triggers giving you the angel token and allowing you to pick the destroy target.

December 12, 2014 9:02 a.m.

mtgirem says... #7

Ok thank you very much for that in depth analysis.

December 12, 2014 9:26 a.m.

This discussion has been closed