Double Transform Triggers?
Asked by brokendwarf 1 month ago
Asking for a friend.
What happens if my opponent plays 2 spells while I have my Krallenhorde Howler Flip on the field and I use Strionic Resonator to copy Krallenhorde Howler Flip's transform ability? Does he transform into Duskwatch Recruiter Flip and then back into Krallenhorde Howler Flip or does her transform into Duskwatch Recruiter Flip and then stay Duskwatch Recruiter Flip because the 2nd transform is looking for a Krallenhorde Howler Flip?
Your creature will stay as a Duskwatch Recruiter Flip because, as you mentioned, it is indeed only going to anything if the card is named Krallenhorde Howler when the transformation trigger resolves, but not quite for that exact reason. Here is an excerpt from an article on WotC's website explaining this when Shadows Over Innistrad came out.
I've saved our most technical change for last. Here's the new rule: if a DFC has an activated or triggered ability that transforms it, that permanent transforms only if it hasn't since that ability was put on the stack. What does that mean? For example, say you activate Elusive Tormentor's ability, then you activate it again in response. Why? Because you want to discard a lot of cards. Why? We're almost there. Relax. The first ability to resolve will cause Elusive Tormentor to transform, as expected. But the second ability won't, as Elusive Tormentor has already transformed because of the first ability.
January 11, 2017 9:11 p.m.
It doesn't have anything to do with the card's name, only whether or not it has already transformed since the ability was put onto the stack. When a card uses its own name in the text of an ability, it means "this object", and it will continue to refer to itself even if the name of the card changes somehow.
For example, if Krallenhorde Howler was about to transform, but you responded by casting Cytoshape and turning it into a Bear Cub, it would still transform (it would also still be a Bear Cub until the end of the turn, but that has to do with the rules of how copy effects work).